I don’t know what it is this week but I am just not that into working out. Lis and I were supposed to go to the track and do speedwork, but she spent the night at home icing her legs, off and on. We’re worried she’s got an injury now of an unknown nature (our coach says maybe a stress fracture, let’s hope that she’s wrong.) So I decided I would head to the gym, and use the treadmill instead for speed workouts rather than using the track in what would ultimately end up being the dark since I had to work until at least 6 p.m.

Got to the gym, and my tummy didn’t feel so good. You ever get a cramp because you are so hungry? Yeah, that’s not the right way to run. So I rode the exercise bike for 45 minutes and watched the Olympics. Rode 16.2 km in 45 minutes.  At least I think it’s been km I have been riding – the bike doesn’t tell me if it’s km or miles.  Like Jill, I am a little bit obsessed with the Olympics.   So here are my thoughts lately in that regard. (Get ready, it’s one of my famous lists.)  🙂

  1. If those Chinese gymnast girls are 16, I’m 16.
  2. Trampoline. An Olympic sport.  WTH?  Are you kidding me?  Yet, oddly I find myself transfixed, staring at the TV, even yelling out to my husband “hey, it’s back on again, get back in here!”
  3. Trampoline  has been a sport for at least 10 years. Yes, both my husband and I found ourselves glued to the tube, yet in shock that it has been around for at least that long.
  4. Did anyone else see the AMOUNT OF AIR those ladies got underneath them on the trampoline?! I would have peed my pants for fear of heights!
  5. How come we didn’t get to see the preliminaries for Trampoline? Why, I ask you, why??!!
  6. I’m going to go out on a limb here, and say that the Chinese are good at Trampoline and Diving because they’ve taken the ones who couldn’t cut it at gymnastics and put those athletes into these other sports. Who’s with me on this?!
  7. Badminton is an Olympic sport.  WTH?
  8. I know this sounds catty, but I think it’s fair to say that none of the women discus throwers will ever be mistaken for supermodels.  Wow. Really, not in a good way, either.
  9. I like this Oto guy who is announcing for the track and field events. Not sure how to spell his name.
  10. I don’t like Usain Bolt from Jamaica. Way too cocky. Stop looking behind you and rubbing it in your competitors’ faces – they worked just as hard to get there as you, Usain.
  11. Gold shoes, Usain? That’s a bit too much.
  12. Walter Dix, I like. When asked how he is keeping it together without having his personal coach there, he said it is his family that is keeping him going. He seems like a down-to-earth guy. My kind of person.
  13. Walter, I know that track is not a field so worried with aerodynamics like swimming. Don’t those braids cause drag though?
  14. I like Michael Phelps and all, but there are other team members there, and other sports I’d like to see. The world won’t come to an end if we didn’t see each preliminary swim he did.
  15. I do like the fact that Michael Phelps is down to earth and acknowledged his mom’s effect a lot in interviews.
  16. My God, we have to wait until the last day of the Olympics to see the Men’s Marathon?!!!

Happy Running everyone.