If I sound incredulous, it’s because  I am.  I would not advocate or even try to suggest to anyone that they should go through the stress I have over the past few weeks as a way of quickening their paces on their daily runs, by any means. However, for some  reason, I appear to be running faster lately, even given the heat and humidity.   My suspicion is that it’s a combination of adrenaline and stress.

By the way, I just wanted to say thank you for all those who have left supportive comments to me, or emailed or called me recently. You have no idea how much it helps. A very good friend of mine told me he thought I’d have more support than what I thought existed, and as usual, he was right.

Unlike where I used to run, if i choose to, now, I can run many many hills. Including Heartbreak Hill. Last week I came across another runner in Newton and asked her if our current location at that time was the famous hill. She said that we were on the tail end of it, and that it starts at the firehouse.  So, a few days later, on my run, I ran further through Newton. I gave up after a little while though because the terrain seemed to be flattening out, with no other hills in sight. So, this weekend, when my younger brother, the running coach and 3-time BQer comes to town, I’m going to drive/run with him along the marathon route and find out exactly where it does start, so I can start training on it. I imagine that could make me much stronger of a runner. (I am REALLY looking forward to seeing him this weekend!)

To return to the title of this post, lately my “easy” runs have been run at mile paces in the low 9s,or even mid-8s, for runs of 5-6 miles, over the course of the past two weeks or so. Might not sound like a lot to some out there, but it’s been really humid lately, and even 70 degrees seems miserable with a high humidity percentage and dew point.  Also, I’ve not felt the need to use my inhaler.  On top of that, these have usually been runs where I’ve set out with no particular plan in mind, other than to explore the area. This morning’s run was 6.02 miles in 55:03!!

So, I’m hoping for some very fast races this fall, when I’ll have the usual fall semester stress and craziness on top of everything. Fortunately, we’ll also have the good cool temps and drier air. I started out this year hoping to be a solid 9 minute miler. This morning, I started thinking that if I could just throw the hammer down a bit more on my runs, or come race-time,  hopefully I could do the Tufts 10K race on Columbus Day in 54 minutes or so. It’d mean running solid miles in the high 8 minute range. Placement at the start line would also be key, as it’s such a crowded race – 7200 women over a 6.2 mile course?!

But we’ll see – time will tell. I need to take it easy, or at least keep it fun, in at least one area of my life right now.  Also,  I could have a “crap run” very soon that’d make me doubt my abilities. However, whenever there’s a bad run, a good one is usually lurking just around the corner, or at least there should be. 🙂

Anyway, tomorrow is another day, with another early morning run facing me, so I’m calling it a night.

