About a week or two ago, I worked out for three days in a row. On the final and third day, my legs just felt like lead. Running just three and a half miles (or two loops around the small lake near me), I really felt exhausted and it was one of those plodding runs that we all hope to just get through. Yep, you could say my endurance is definitely much lower than it has been in the past, when even 8 miles seemed like “oh, it’s just 8 miles on the schedule for today, shouldn’t be a big deal.”

Then, I got to thinking of this one guy who has followed me on Twitter, and who I’ve followed back for several months now, Paul Both.  You can find him here on Twitter. Now, I have to admit something. When I first saw his picture (or what they call an avatar on Twitter), he had dreads and was all in black.  The picture was on the smaller side, and I was like “hm, he looks kind of menacing/scary.”  Yeah, I kind of thought of all the stereotypes and was like “do I even want this guy following me?” But, I saw that some folks who I’ve talked online with now for quite a while seemed to be talking pretty regularly to him, and thought “ok, I won’t block him.”

Flash forward to January 9th.  Paul started running across the country, literally from the Pacific Ocean, on that date.  He is currently running through New Mexico, with the support of his friend, Chris. Think about this. He’s running about a marathon per day.  Think about how most of us who have run marathons have felt the day after. We literally want to die. (I know I was sick after mine, so in addition to the pain of my body, I felt the usual cruddiness that comes along with illness.) Now imagine getting out of bed, and doing the same thing all over again. For several days in a row. (I believe today was a light day – he only ran 15 miles.  Yeah, if only we could all have light  days where you only run more miles than a half marathon.)

Now, he does take days off. Of course. Everyone has to.  And it’s amazing that he has enough energy to respond like he does to folks on Twitter. (I’d just want to lay down and die every night and be like “leave me here, save yourself.”) 

 If you want to know why he’s doing this, please check out the website that he has, Run for Liberty.  He has a VLog (or video) on the left hand side of the home page.  Even if you don’t agree with him, you have to hand it to someone who’s willing, and physically and mentally able, to get out there and do that, day after day. I admire him for that because I know I couldn’t.  I think I’d be too afraid to do it, or afraid I’d fail.

So, next time you’re on a 4-5 mile run, and your legs feel heavy, just push on through.  For Paul, that’s just a warm-up!

Map photo by Back Garage, from flickr.com

