I can’t make it to Forrest Gumps Anonymous, as my husband calls it, or indoor track, as I call it, tonight.  I have a board meeting to attend to, for which I am the Recording Secretary, so really I can’t miss these meetings!

Luckily, though, the coaches sent us the workout yesterday so I was able to do it on the treadmill this morning. First of all, my abs still feel whatever I did to them on Sunday. Good Lord! I definitely should have been doing more core work all along! Secondly, speed work is so hard to do on  your own, and on a treadmill, and before the clock even hits 7 a.m., let me tell you!

I took my Sports Beans with caffeine to wake up, and I also took my Propel, again, to help me wake up. This is what we were supposed to do: 6 to 8 repeats of 600 meters (on the indoor track, it’d be 4 laps), at 5K goal pace, and with active recovery in between.  I translated that into .4 on the treadmill, and .15 as the distance to walk/slow shuffle in between.  If I’d been at the indoor track, we’d not have had water breaks until after the 4th one, but since I was on the treadmill, I let myself drink when I needed it.

I originally intended to do 8 of them, but I ended up only doing 6.  This is the pace that I used:

  • 1st 3 repeats – treadmill set to 8.2 (7:19 mile pace); incline set to 0 for the first two (I forgot to change it to 1.0)
  • 4th repeat – treadmill set to 8.1 (7:24 mile pace), then changed to 8.0 (7:30 mile pace), incline set to 1.0  (felt like I was dying for a while there)
  • 5th repeat – treadmill set to 8.1
  • 6th repeat – treadmill set to 8.1 again, still on incline of 1.0

I did take a bit of a pause break in between the 4th and 5th repeat. I figured if we were at the track, we would have taken about a 1-2 minute break.  Total running including cooling down and warm up was 3.6 miles.

Anyway, I’m off to my board meeting, have a good night everyone!

photo by Gregory Bastien, from flickr.com

