You know how they always say that when you come back from vacation, that you feel like you need another one after just a few days? That’s kind of how I felt this week. Came back, and prepared to teach a class in two days. Hadn’t done a ton of prep ahead of time, so I had my work cut out for me. Even though it was a subject I’ve taught on many times (legislative history), you always get nervous thinking about what questions can be asked, whether your examples will work the way they are supposed to, etc.

Lis and I signed up to do the Groton Road Race tomorrow. You can choose to do either the 5K or 10K and can even do both. We both originally signed up to do the 10K, but get this? You know how I’ve been complaining about the cold for the past several months. Normal temps here average in the 50s and 60s right now. The forecast for tomorrow is 80 at noon and 82 at 1 p.m. The 5K starts at 11:50 p.m. and the 10K starts at 1.  So, we’ve both decided to do the 5K, and not feel badly about it. We don’t need to prove anything to anyone – that’s our motto and we are sticking to it! 

Yes, I have a goal of doing a 10K in 54-55 minutes this year, and this might have served as a good baseline for me for the year, but maybe not. We all know that it takes about 3 weeks to acclimate to changes in temps. I had 5 days in Mexico, and then came back to 40 degree temps in the morning. So my body is all confused right now where it comes to running.

Heading into 80 degrees here today – I found I just pretty much felt exhausted most of the day.  I got up early to get Bill and his car to a garage, and then checked out the schedule for the Newburyport Literary Festival. One of my favorite writers, Cheryl Richardson, spoke at 10:30 this morning. So I hurried home from the garage, showered, and  drove up there as fast as I could.  Imagine a literary festival where multiple New York Times bestselling authors are speaking, and it’s all free, and open to the public! I couldn’t believe it!! 

Cheryl  Richardson spoke about the writing life, how to get started, how hard it can be, etc., and it was basically like a really good conversation between her and everyone in the room. I came away thinking, “wow, she is so NORMAL.”  Here is her facebook page.  Gave me lots to think about, and a lot of inspiration.  I picked up her book, The Unmistakeable Touch of Grace, and so far, I am finding it to be really wonderful.

Oh, and this is totally unrelated – my mom told me tonight – the guy accused of being the Craig’s List Killer –  as if it’s not bad enough that he just got suspended from the same university where I used to work, he also went to the same undergrad as I did, and now my mom told me he went to high school about 12 miles away from where I grew up. I even ran a cross country race there in high school.  You just never know who could be living nearby.  I feel badly for his family – I am sure that they are getting attacked by the news media.

Anyway, wish Lis and I luck tomorrow running in the heat – we are definitely not used to this! (But we’ll adapt, gladly! LOL!)

And now that I am done with teaching for the semester, my hours go back to normal, and I can catch up on everyone’s blogs, I feel like I’ve been away for far too long!

