Running after Seagulls, by Eschipul, on flickr.com

Running after Seagulls, by Eschipul, on flickr.com

This photo was chosen tonight for all of us who need to think of a time in our lives when things were more carefree.  Hope you like it.

Can you see me jumping and down from here? (Ok, I’m not, I’m eating because I’m always like a rabid animal after track, but you get the idea.)

I was feeling a lot better yesterday so I thought I’d go to track tonight and I’m so glad I did. I even moved up a group – well, actually our group decided to do the workout for letter F rather than G. Yayyyy!!!

Tonight’s workout:

  • 5 x 3 laps at 41 second pace (walk a 1/2 lap in between each repeat)
  • 5 x 2.5 laps at 38-39 second pace (1 lap jog in betweeen reps)
  • 5 x 1.5 laps at 36-37 second pace (half lap walk/half lap jog in between reps)

Since we’re on a 11 lap track = one mile, 2.75 laps equals a 1/4 mile on a regular track.

Paces:

  • 41 second laps = 7:31 pace
  • 38 second lap = 6:58 pace
  • 36 second lap = 6:36 pace !!

Our group was pretty small tonight because a  lot of MVSers went to listen to a nutritionist talk about sports nutrition. I actually kind of like the small group practices. I ran with Francine and Diane, both of whom are VERY fast.

Want to hear something funny? I usually do track workouts with a $10 watch – on such a small track, it’s easier to track the seconds than by using my Garmin 405. Well, my cheap watch armband broke and I couldn’t find it before I left tonight so I had the two of them let me know if I was on pace or not. My Garmin is all set up for running distances outside, and after a bit, I just gave up trying to reset the damn thing. I am happy to say I did alright pacing, sans watch! 🙂 

Also, I led for the last repeat of the night, so I had joked with Diane, if I was still alive at that point, I could even try to go faster than the card, and she was like “honey, you can let it rip if you want!” So I did.  There’s nothing like the feeling of being able to kick it in after a hard workout, is there?!  I absolutely love having a kick! (It’s the one thing my brother and I have in common when it comes to running, we love to kick it in!!)

I did occasionally feel the after effects of having a cold, where  my lungs were concerned, but was glad to see that my legs were ok. Anytime I felt myself slipping behind the two of them, I just tried to will my legs to take smaller strides, relax my arms a bit, and just focus on the back of Francine’s hat. That helped.

I am hoping to be able to make it to practice for the next two weeks, but they are going to be held outside, so we’re fighting against the light. They are going to start at 6, so I’m going to have to ask my boss if I can leave early, or try to use comp time if I can (sometimes we can only use it in certain increments.) Wish me luck!

Thank you to everyone for the words of support this past week, especially when I had to sit out Sunday’s race. You guys are awesome!

Now it’s all about building up the miles again for the Lehigh Valley Half Marathon (or what I’m referring to as My Grandma’s Race) on May 3rd.

