Lis did and she did really well, especially considering that she had not run since last week’s race, and her last run before that race was the race the week before. That is the life of a CPA 5 weeks (or 5 Saturdays as she says) before tax time.

Today’s race was the 5 miler, a distance she really likes, and did well in last year when we were training for the marathon (and truth be told, she would have beat me if there wasn’t a cop that held up runners to let cars go through, a fact she is still bitter about…)

She said that there was a bagpiper dressed in full kilt playing the whole time while he walked through a cemetery (I think the race runs by the cemetery.) She said it was well organized, but the lines for the ladies’ room inside was long, but not as long outside at the porta potties. And of course lines for food and beer afterward, were REALLY long. I wish I could have been there with her, but I don’t even know that I could have yelled.

I had to work yesterday and by last night, I had barely any voice left, and it hurt to talk over a whisper (a fact Bill says he was happy for, and for which he got a nice wifely “slap” with a smile, you know the type.) When I woke up this morning, I just felt it would be safer to not run as my cold has moved from my head to my chest. I have a cough, and at times, after talking too much, a bit of soreness in swallowing.  I REALLY wanted to have that third medal, but Lis reminded me, wisely, “hey, we’re running for fun, remember?” and she’s right. It’s not fun  to run when you’re sick, even if it was in the HIGH 50’S TODAY!!!

I have to admit, I was bummed, but then I read Anne’s post about her co-worker’s death (Run-DMZ blog), and it put a lot in perspective. (By the way, if you don’t read Anne’s blog, you should. She’s one of the best writers I’ve ever come across, and I’m not the only one who thinks that. Just take a look at some of the comments people have left her.)

I realized, I’m pretty lucky.  While my work is stressful right now with this whole re-org business (we were going to do this regardless of the economy, and anyway, my school is so rich, God asks it for a loan), I have a lot going on to keep my attentions focused on the positive:

  1. working on that article with my mentor/co-author which we are hoping to submit soon after the end of March
  2. editing my brother-in-law’s two chapters he’s publishing in a manual for his state’s prosecuting attorney’s association (and I get an editorial credit – yay!)
  3. I’ll soon be busy with editing or proofreading articles for the Runner’s Lounge book project 
  4. writing on my own, for me (although it has taken a bit of a backseat to the article we’re working on)

 So it was just a matter of time until I got sick, and this too, shall pass.

This photo below is for all of you who have had some crappy weeks lately, and for those of you who have been really stressed, and for those of you who plain just need to see something beautiful.

View from the Window, by Sheriff Mitchell, on flickr.com

View from the Window, by Sheriff Mitchell, on flickr.com

