I am so sorry that Bill had to work on Sunday and today.  Everyone should get a 3 day weekend once in a while.  But that’s the life of a consultant, needing to be available for all clients who may or may not be open on  a holiday.  There are some good benefits to working in academia, even though it’s not always a cake walk as everyone assumes.

I have enjoyed myself this past weekend – the race on Saturday morning (although it felt a bit “off” since Bill was not there at the finish line), reading and doing a lot of writing.  I got a few books out from the public library: an FAQ book for beginning writers (I think they mean “beginning” in the sense of starting to write and try to get published.  (I was published in law school but I don’t count that in the same sense.) I got another book on what not to do when writing a novel if you want it to get published.  Some of the examples were really funny, and so far I have not seen my writing in the errors that they point out (let’s hope things continue that way until I’m finished with that book.)

I’m hoping that I can have all the basic answers I need before I meet with my article co-author (and basically my mentor where all of this will be concerned), hopefully next week.  I also did a lot of research this past weekend for our article – there’s a lot to be discussed though before the actual writing of that can begin.

Oh, and I am almost, but not quite, embarrassed to admit that I also started reading Eclipse over the weekend. I agree with Lisa that Bella is a much better character in this book than in New Moon.

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, cover from Amazon

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, cover from Amazon

(Don’t worry, folks, if you haven’t read the series yet, I am not giving anything anyway!)  I know I’m pathetic – I just ordered it through Amazon last week and I got it out from the library.  I think just having these books around after I’m done with them will help to keep me writing because of the positive mind association I have with knowing that I started writing while reading them.  And, because I’ll remember how so many people, including myself, find it hard to put them down.  It’ll help motivate me and remind me that I want my writing to have the same effect on the reader.

You know how certain music can really keep you running? Certain music can really help you write and concentate too.  For me right now, that group is The Fray, and Angels and Airwaves.  I’m trying to keep positive associations with Forever by Chris  Brown, but now all I can think of is the fact that he beats his girlfriend, which makes me mad, for two reasons. One, who the hell does he think he is?  Two, I really like that song – this sucks!

I really need to mix up a new playlist for my next three Sundays – I just signed up for the Irish Wild Rover Series, which is 3 Sundays in a row.  Feb. 22nd’s race is 3 miles, March 1st is 4 miles and March 8th is 5 miles.  Lis and I are going to do them all – just pray for us we get good weather (it’s supposed to snow this Sunday – why couldn’t we get a break JUST ONCE?!)

Below is a picture of what the medals look  like if you do all three races – they are like pieces of a puzzle that fit together.

Wild Rover Pub Series medals

Wild Rover Pub Series medals

Anyway, I have a few things to do before I hit the pillow for the evening. I need to get up early in the morning to attempt my speedwork on the treadmill (the high school where we have Tuesday’s sessions is closed this week for midwinter break.)

This is our workout, but what confuses me is that our coach writes the pace should be at Mile or 5K estimated effort.  The thing is my 5K average pace was definitely not the same as my mile time trial! (8:29 vs. 7:29 pace) 

Group G: repeat the following 5 times, with walking/jogging for 2 minutes after each 5 minute session:

  • 1 min: 7:40-7:50 pace
  • 1 min: 8:40-8:50 pace
  • 1 min: 7:40-7:50 pace
  • 1 min: 8:40-8:50 pace
  • 1 min: 7:40 pace

So I’m going to see how I feel – if that seems like it’s not enough, I might try Group F’s workout:

  • 1 min: 7:20 pace
  • 1 min: 8:30 pace
  • 1 min: 7:20 pace
  • 1 min: 8:30 pace
  • 1 min: 7:20 pace 

Group F’s workout seems like it is more of the paces that we’ve been doing each week. However, I did do weights this morning and am still feeling it now in my legs, so we’ll have to see how my morning legs and brain feel.

I hope everyone will have a good Tuesday and can get out there running!

