I started to write this as a response comment to everyone and realized its length was building exponentially!

Thank you so much everyone for all of the advice.

 Glenn, I think you may think I am faster than I am -I really don’t think I could ever break 2 hours in a half-marathon! My most recent one was 2:18, so for me 2:13 would be awesome, especially on a course with hills. I’m flattered you think I could keep up a fast pace for that far!

 The short races over the next few weeks are all on Sundays. That is the only day of the week that Lis (my running partner from last year and now my friend) can race, since she’s a CPA (you can imagine how busy she is right now), and I really like seeing her at these things. The ones we’re going to do over the next few weeks are part of a Pub Series. So based on the advice of everyone, I think I do need to work out a way to get more running in, and to get in some longer time during the week. Maybe I can figure out a way to work in my comp time from work and take a morning off here and there on a Friday. It’s all a juggling act, isn’t it?

I did get out there and run today – the air was very cold but the sun made it warm at the same time. I was kind of disturbed when I got home to find that I had sweated through not one, not two, but all three layers I was wearing on top.  I only ran 8.3, and at a certainly slower pace than I’ve sometimes done 11 before.  Yesterday’s race was only a 6K, but I certainly felt it today. 

To be honest, I am feeling a bit like I am burnt out on running longer distances right now (how weird that now 10 miles seem long, whereas last summer it felt short.)  I’ve been running double digit runs on weekends now for what seems like 9-10 months and I feel like I need a break.  I realized at the end of my run, when I sped up and got my legs really moving, that’s when I felt happiest. I am liking this short speed thing (and yes, speed is all relative – compared to all you folks out there who read this blog,I am sure I’d have the role of the tortoise if we were put together in a race.)

There was one positive about my run today.  During the last 3 miles or so, I saw someone running in the distance in front of me.  At first I thought they were walking. Then I looked closer, and I thought it was a senior citizen out for their first run.  As I got closer, I thought it was a middle-aged woman with blond hair.  When I ran past the other jogger, I saw it was a middle-aged man with longer hair.  I yelled out to him that he was doing really well (I’m always worried about sounding condescending to someone else when I do this), gave him a big smile which he returned, and then kept on going.

Seeing that guy concentrating so hard on what he was doing (it really looked like it was his first time out) gave me the boost I needed at that moment, to keep on going and get home. I figured if he could do it, so could I.

I’m going to think about everyone’s advice (thank you again) and come up with some sort of revised training plan from what my track coach gave me. I might ask him to revise it but there are so many people on the team that I’m worried it would take too long to get it back.

Anyway I hope a lot of you get to enjoy a three day weekend like me! I’m looking forward to a lot of reading, organizing and writing tomorrow.

