Music is my muse, and very often, my inspiration. It inspires me to write. It inspires me to keep going on long runs. It inspires me to speed up at the end of a run, or race, when otherwise, all I want to do is stop and gasp for air sometimes.

Here are a few of my favorites:

Gomez, See the World (can’t listen to this without smiling, it’s great for writing good, positive scenes)

Lifehouse, Storm Acoustic Version (sometimes it sounds depressing, sometimes comforting, please let me know what you think)

At other times, it’s thinking of past accomplishments. Of finally doing something or accomplishing a goal which I might have been working toward for a long time.  

I think too often we let negative thoughts (that we come up with on our own, unaided), or comments made by others get in our way.  Willie left a comment on my blog the other day saying that he has always wanted to be a writer.  Here’s what I say: if that’s what you want to do, Willie, then do it! You never know what you can or can’t do until you  put your mind to it.  If you think you can’t do something, then guess what? You won’t.  (By the way, for those of you who’ve never read Willie’s blog before,  you should take a look. He’s quite funny, and his post where he pretends that he is being interviewed by Oprah Winfrey, is one of my favorites.)

I decided last week I wanted to write my own novel. I used to write a lot when I was a kid, writing plays that I wanted other students to act out. What made me stop? I’m not sure. Probably at one  point, I changed my mind and thought I couldn’t do it well.

Then what happened once I made the decision last week to believe in myself? I get an email from someone I really look up to, asking if I want to co-author an article with her (and she certainly has the power to get it published). Do you see the power of positive thinking? I HOPE SO!

In that vein, I want to share something with you from one of  my friend Helen’s last letters she ever sent me.  At the top of it she wrote “‘Tequila and Salt.” (I’d never heard of this before.)

  1. There are at least two people in this world that you would die for.
  2. At least 15 people in this world love you in some way.
  3. The only reason anyone would ever hate you is because they want to be just like you.
  4. A smile from you can bring happiness to anyone even if they don’t like you.
  5. Every night someone thinks about you before they go to sleep.
  6. You mean the world to someone.
  7. You are special and unique.
  8. Someone that doesn’t even know you exist loves you.
  9. When you make your biggest mistakes ever, something good comes from it.
  10. When you think the world has turned its back on you, take another look.
  11. Always remember the compliments you received. Forget the rude remarks.

It continues on later with this: “Happiness keeps  you sweet, trials keep you strong, sorrow keeps you human, failure keeps you humble, success keeps you glowing.  Worry looks around, Sorry looks back, Faith keeps looking up!”

Is there someone in your life for whom you’d do anything to see him/her smile?  You see, an inspiration can also be a person you really want to make proud, or happy.  It could even be fellow bloggers who always cheer you on and help to pick you up when you falter. 🙂

I hope you’ve enjoyed this Wednesday’s Inspirational Thought.

Jack-Up Sunrise photo by CCGD, on Flickr.com (no derivative works allowed)

Jack-Up Sunrise photo by CCGD, Flickr.com (no derivative works allowed)

 

 

