Photo by "Steve Took It," at flickr.com

Photo by "Steve Took It," at flickr.com

I seriously can’t believe we only have 4-6 weeks left of our indoor track season. It’s been awesome.  My group, though, is dropping like flies.

Kara has shin splints and is hoping to come back next week. Allison, the speedster who doesn’t wear a watch (and who always gets faster toward the end), has had bronchitis and strep (she’s got kids), Francine wasn’t there tonight (she leads a lot), and Maura, who had moved up a group, has had an infection, so she ran with us tonight, and stopped midway, as she was not feeling completely herself. Thank God for Amy, who always tries very hard to run just what is on the card.  We ended up running as a pair toward the end of the night.

Our workout was 12 repeats of this: 1st lap: 41-42 seconds; 2nd lap: 39-40 seconds; 3rd lap: 37-38 seconds, or a tad faster.  Then walk a half lap, then jog a full lap.  (So, a total of 54 laps, or almost 5 miles overall.)

During the “jog” portion, Amy and I like to do what we call the Old Woman Jog, which means that technically both of our feet are off the ground at one point or another, we just look like we are doing the Bionic Woman Run, but in slow motion.  And I mean the old, original Bionic Woman, the original Jamie Summers! (Yes, sigh, I just dated myself, I know. I was very young when the show was on, and I stress very.) 🙂  (And I mean no offense to anyone who thinks that they are old – remember you are only as old as you think you are!)

I have found I do better when I lead laps, as I feel an obligation to keep up the pace. When I run behind Amy, I sometimes feel like I might trip over her feet, as she tends to take larger strides than me. But all in all, we make a good team. She’s quite positive, and we’re going to see each other again on Saturday! We’re both running the Bradford Valentine’s Day Races – she’s doing the 5 Miler, and I’m doing the 6K (which is a weird distance, admittedly, but it’ll be fun!)  They are both hilly courses, so my goal is to do between 30-31 minutes, but at any rate, keep all the miles below 9, or close to it anyway.

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, image from Amazon

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, image from Amazon

Oh, and I finished the over 500-page New  Moon by Stephenie Meyer today – you can say it, I’m ADDICTED!   I just bought the next two on Amazon: Eclipse and Breaking Dawn.  Yeah, I need help!!

To the new people I’ve seen/noticed reading my blog, thank you so much!!   And thanks also for taking the time to comment, I know it is an extra effort and I appreciate it.

Happy Running Everyone!

