Yes, at this point, I am trying to make some of you giggle like little kids with that acronym, I admit it.  LOL!   Bill has now taken to calling my Tuesday Indoor Track sessions my Forrest Gump Anonymous sessions.  I can’t believe we are more than halfway through our indoor track season already! I’m definitely going to miss it, and have to see if there’s a way I could work my flex 4-day schedule in the summer (if that’s still offered this year) so that I could continue doing something like this. As one of my fellow “Group G”ers said tonight, you couldn’t do these workouts on your own, it’d be very hard to keep it up.  Only problem is that when they do outdoor track, they meet earlier in the evening, around 5:30, I think, and that would be impossible for me to make from work.

I was pretty happy tonight. I made a vow to myself after that one hideous showing about a month ago, when we were all dying, and me particularly so, I was NOT going to lag behind again. I’m happy to say I was able to lead for at least half the time tonight and it felt GREAT. There were a few parts where I was said to my group “I’ll try to lead, I can’t promise I can keep it up, but I’ll do my best” but, suprisingly, I did. I even went too fast on our last go-around of 3 lap!  (To be honest, at that point of the evening, when I know we’re done, I just want to FINISH.) Someone even yelled out to us tonight toward the end “Good Group!”  I guess it’s because we pretty much all stick together.  🙂

So, Lis, if you’re out there reading this, you and I will have to start running track workouts together again once tax season is over. Deal??!!  I promise, no stadiums! 🙂

I also found out that the lady who normally leads our group, Francine, just ran the  Half-Marathon (along with Lindsay) down in Disney a few weeks ago. She did it in 1:54.  That makes me feel good to know I’m running along with someone who has that kind of speed.

So back to the new nickname for our Tuesday night sessions. Remember this scene from the movie?  How many of us have been out running somewhere and have heard some jackass yell out “Run Forrest Run!” ?   Yep, like we’ve never heard that before!

Oh, and I found out some bad news tonight.  My brother is likely now running the Pittsfield Peaks 53 mile race rather than the Vermont 100. He said he and his friend Scott want to do that one next year. But he might also do the Vermont 50 in September – he’s still considering it.  That’d make two ultras and the Boston Marathon within 6 months of each other. In case you’re wondering, yep, Boston is the hardest of all marathons, in his opinion.  

The Pittsfield Peaks race doesn’t allow pacers – here is the elevation gain for the race – can you even begin to IMAGINE this hell?

Pittsfield Peaks Distances and Elevations:1. Contest Trail (Wilcox Mtn) – 12.96 miles – 2787 vertical
2. Hayes Brook Loop – 6 miles – 957 vertical
3. Bloodroot Mtn. – 19.89 miles – 4670 vertical
4. Hedgehog – 3.79 miles – 700 vertical
5. South Hill – 4.43 miles – 1508 vertical
6. Joe’s Hill (Sable Mtn) – 7.08 miles – 3383 vertical

 53 MILES – 14,005 vertical

However, the Vermont 50 does allow pacers, so there’s still a goal for me to keep in mind, and that race does have a lot of elevation gain too, so I’m still going to work on a fair amount of hills.

So, I’m pumped for this weekend’s 5K – I’m going to get out there and see what I can do, and hopefully use it as a baseline for this spring. My plan is to run Thursday, run or cross-train Friday, and take Saturday off so I’ve got fresh legs on Sunday.  I’ll miss out on my long run, but I really want to do well. Wish me luck!

