fabulousbloggerawardI was tagged by both Anne of the Run-DMZ blog and Penny of Planet Nyyep Running with the Fabulous Blogger award.   Although I am dealing with a serious case of the Northeast winter blues right now, I still need to name five things I’m addicted to, and then pass it on!

My addictions: 

 

  1. Oreos. (If there was a nuclear war and they were the only food left, I’d never starve.)
  2. Running.
  3. Reading.  Seriously, my husband thinks our living room has become a branch of my town’s public library, as well as of  my university’s libraries. I have to admit, I think he’s right.  (At least I don’t have to pay for them!)
  4. My kitties, Chloe and Callie. Nothing I wouldn’t do for those balls of fluff.
  5. Email.  Listening to old reruns of Beverly Hills 90210 while I go about my day at work. I found that CBS’s website has the first four seasons – I put on an old episode, minimize the window and listen with my headphones, while I’m getting stuff done. Mentally, it puts me in a good place – I was much younger at the time it was on TV and had comparably less stress and worries in my life.  Check it out here — http://www.cbs.com/classics/beverly_hills_90210/   (It’s kind of weird though, considering it was on the WB!)  The email addiction, I’ve got to get away from though. Things can always wait – the world’s not going to come to an end.

Oh, and here are the  folks I’ve picked to pass on the award to – if any of you have been tagged by someone else, then just disregard (and yeah, I’m violating a rule by picking more than 5)!

  1. Lisa, from Discovering the Meaning of Stonehenge
  2. Willie, from See Willie Run
  3. Alissa, from  Runner’s Balancing Act
  4. Kaolee, from Girl on Top 
  5. Jill, from Jill Will Run
  6. Amy, from Chubby Girl Running
  7. Kristin, from  Running with the Runner Girl
  8. Chris, from  Gibtown Runner
  9. Alejandro, otherwise known as The Alien
  10. Kara, from Between the Miles
  11. KCH, from Run Faster
  12. Jody, from Another Day
  13. Eileen, The Running Knitter
  14. Jenn, from My Third First Marathon
  15. Lindsay, from Chasing the Kenyans (last, but certainly not least!)

I have other favorites of course, but I think they’ve been away from blogging for a bit, so I’ll cut them some slack!

About the Northeastern winter blues, well, let me explain.

  • Yesterday’s forecast: 3-4 inches
  • Yesterday’s actual precipitation: 14 inches!!

Everywhere I ran today I saw people who just looked so disgusted and for good reason. We have snow banks at the end of my driveway that are taller than me. (I’m 5’1′).  They are literally equal to the TOP of Bill’s Ford Explorer. How in the hell am I supposed to drive out of my driveway in the morning in my little Civic without getting hit?!  I think everyone’s bad moods and disgust got into me before long. That, and I got sick of being splashed with the muck on the road by almost every car that passed me.

Here’s what my run was like today – SLOOOOOO WWWWWWW   MMMMMMOOOOOOOOOO….. Kind of like Frank the Tank from the movie Old School when he shoots himself with a dart tranquilizer – if  you have no idea what I’m talking about, watch the short video below – the slow motion starts about 1 minute in:

No matter how hard I tried I just could not push my legs to move forward.  I had about zero energy in me, almost from the beginning of my run, even though I had about 9 hours of sleep last night.  I had to stop after the first half mile to take off my stabilicers because the street was just wet, and I could literally feel them through my shoes (but then I had to carry them in my Camelbak.)  

I think  I am just sick of all this grey weather, the short days and really long nights, the cold weather that forces me to wear so much freakin’ gear just to go out for a run.  I decided to cut my run at 6 miles, since I felt like such crap and I have indoor track tomorrow night.  After shoveling tonight for a half hour, my back hurts a fair amount and I’m tired.  Today’s run made me think of this song by Fuel, called Bad Day (just substitute Bad Run for the title.)

This explains why Bill and I are now seriously looking at vacations in really warm weather for the first time in 5 years (since our honeymoon in August 2004.)   I cannot tell you how depressing this weather has been to deal with.

I know, it’s just a crap run – the good ones will come back.

Until then, Ugh.

