Simply breathtaking large seastack off of the coast of Pacific City, OR.

Simply breathtaking large seastack off of the coast of Pacific City, OR.

A lot of people have told me lately that they consider me an optimist. I can’t tell you how flattering that is, because I didn’t use to be what I would call a positive person.   (My mom is probably reading this right now vigorously nodding her head up and down.)

I still sometimes sink back into negativity, as my husband can readily tell you. But I have found it doesn’t get me anywhere, and just makes me feel miserable, so I try to snap myself out of it. Running has certainly helped in that regard. I found last year when training for a marathon, that you can’t be negative and hope to get through it. It just won’t happen. You’ll defeat yourself before you even get started.

 Now that the Boston area is in the middle of winter, and my husband and I can’t wait to go somewhere warm for vacation (regardless of whether we can afford it, we just need to get out of the cold).  So I surround myself in my office with photos of the coast (West and East) that make me smile and think of warmer times in the past, and to come in the future.  These two photos I took last summer when I was on the Oregon Coast. I’ve shown them on this blog before, but now I’ve printed them on really beautiful photographic paper and framed them. They sit right next to my computer monitor and they help me to stay positive when I see them. They remind me of a great few days that I had on my own, driving down the coast, checking out spots that Lisa recommended to me.

Speaking of cold temps, this morning it was 7 when I got up, not counting wind chill.  Bill strongly suggested that I not run outside this morning. Because I remember what my lungs felt like for an hour the last time I was out there when it was this cold, a few weeks ago, I decided to take his advice. Five miles on the treadmill. This may not seem like a lot, but to me it was almost an eternity.  I can’t believe how much more I love running outside now, even if it is frigid outside.

Here’s the good thing though – my average pace was 9:40, and no walking was involved once I started!!!  And the only reason the average was not faster was because I started running at 10 minute mile pace (to warm up) for the first 8 minutes or so, or as long as it took to play Adventure by Angels and Airwaves, twice through on my iPod. That got me going, thank fully! From then on, I just kept upping the speed. The fifth mile was at 9:13 for the first half, then faster still for the rest of it.  I admit, I kept upping the speed because I just wanted to get off the treadmill, and also because I wanted to challenge myself. I ended up with the treadmill at 7.0 and higher for the last .35 miles. Yay!!

In the beginning, I mentally kept reminding myself how it felt on Tuesday night to be in a group that kept passing people on the track. It felt awesome! Sure, we were not the fastest ones there – there are definitely some major speedsters at the indoor track sessions (think of the types of guys who always wear singlets to run, and you’ve got the image.)  Another trick I’ve learned, to keep myself going on the treadmill, and just in general, is to associate songs I hear with events in my life that were or which I hope to be positive. Right now, every time I hear Everything’s Magic by Angels and Airwaves (my favorite group at the moment), I think about the fact that it’s the song I was listening to when I decided that if my brother’s up for running a 50 or 100 mile race this year, I’ll be sure to be ready to pace him, and keep him moving forward.

 Sea Stack with Waves along the Oregon Coast

 
Sea Stack with Waves along the Oregon Coast

 

 

Happy Thursday everyone!

