Tree of Light by JPhilipson on Flickr.com (I find it very inspirational, don't you?)

Tree of Light by JPhilipson on Flickr.com (I find it very inspirational, don't you?)

Yep, it’s a double post day for me.  

Before I start, I just wanted to say that  if you leave a comment on the blog, be sure to check the box that will send you an email when I reply – I’ve been trying to respond to as many individual comments as I can.  It may sometimes take me a day or two but I am definitely trying, and I greatly appreciate the time you’ve taken to drop me a line.

Jill suggested I try writing up inspirational thoughts at least one day a week like I was trying to do at work.    I had been sending out emails every day to our listserv, and honestly, hardly anyone was writing me back, so I sort of stopped them the last week of the year. I didn’t want to be annoying to my coworkers, and it felt kind of lonely on my end, to be honest.   I tried to keep in mind that not everyone is as into exercise as I am, and our director, who’s a really nice guy, and a runner, is also on the list, so maybe that is causing some self-censoring.  Then I talked to one of my coworkers yesterday and she said she liked the upbeat nature of the emails. So I may start them up again.

Anyway, I thought I would make every Wednesday’s post: Wednesday’s Inspirational Thought, or WIT for short. That sounds better than calling it Tuesday’s Inspirational Thought because then its abbreviation would be TIT and well, I’m trying to keep this blog PG-13. 🙂  (And yes, I can see my husband reading this post and giggling like a 4 year old.  In case you are wondering, yes, I did marry him of my own free will.  HEAVY SIGH FOR DRAMATIC EFFECT.)  Smile.

I figure this will make me keep researching about good, positive stuff and hopefully it’ll give all of you a weekly lift, like Jill’s Monday Motivation posts do for me.

So here’s today’s inspirational thought:

Some of you may have seen Running on the Sun already. Although he didn’t win the race, there was a participant  who was a double amputee. I remember that they interviewed him about why he was doing this run. He said something to the effect that during this run you could find your soul.

Watching him come across the finish line, many hours behind the winners, but with a smile on his face, made me think. If someone’s heart is that big, and he can do a race like that, well, I should be able to keep myself going through my own runs. Your mind can help you do a lot of things that your body might not otherwise be able to complete.  Runners know this, but sometimes they just need to be reminded of it.

Have a great Wednesday, folks.

