Just heading out to lunch, but wanted to post this video here first. I have been waiting for five months for Randy Pausch’s book to come to me through my public library (I hate paying for books when you can get them for free through the library, no suprise considering my day job.) Today I finally got notice that it’s there and waiting for me – yippee!

I found this shortened 10-minute version of his last lecture, that he gave while on the Oprah Winfrey Show.

Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

Some people have asked me recently why I decided to volunteer at a food pantry. I guess it’s part of my new attitude on life that I’ve adopted this past year or so.  I made a conscious effort at first to stay positive for the effects it had on my running. Then I noticed the effects it had on my actual life apart from running. Then I started thinking about how there are often times you “think about doing something” or “want to do something” but don’t get any further than that, into actually taking action. Now I am.  It’s just my little way of doing something. I don’t have all the money in the world to donate, so I’m donating my time instead, and meeting some really great people in the process. I’m kind of amazed at what other people do with their free time, how much of it they give away.

There are some really great people out there in this world, try to think of that the next time someone flips you off, or just acts like a complete jerk. It’s what I’m going to try to do.

Next goal is to work with Habitat for Humanity – going to email or call them today. I figure as long as they don’t give me too important a job to do, I can’t screw it up too badly.

Enjoy the video. I did.

