heavy-rain

Heavy Rain Picture, from Accuweather

Yesterday I ran in what I thought was  a light rain/mist, at 6 a.m. I made it a point not to look at my watch for most of the time I ran. It felt good, I didn’t care about my average pace per minute.  I ran my rolling hill route, 6.3 or 6.4 miles, and I couldn’t believe I could do that in the morning before I went to work! It felt awesome.  What I liked most was that it was just me, my music and my thoughts.

Today, we still have the same storm with us, 24 hours later. Except now, it’s what they call a drenching rain.  Bill and I had his work Christmas party last night, so I did sleep in until 5 a.m., and my plan was just to run 3 miles.  Here is where my rationalizing brain comes in. I poked my head outside, realized it’s actually REALLY miserable outside, and  you know what, I am not training for a race!  You could put it like this: “the CRAZY TRAIN pulled up to the station, I was torn, I almost got on, and then SANITY took over. I stayed on the platform.” 🙂

So, I’m taking today off to get other stuff done, get this blog post written, work on decorating our Christmas tree, put in a load of laundry (running clothes to be exact – they are quite disgusting), and maybe write out some Christmas cards (holiday cards for my Jewish friends).  Yes, I could have gone to the gym, but I just couldn’t force myself to do that this morning, knowing I’d have to cut it really short, because I’m on the reference desk at 9 a.m. and I CANNOT be late for that.

Now I’m seeing on the news that just a few towns over from me, school is closed today. Some of these towns got a lot of freezing rain, and trees are down all over the place. I think it’s a good thing I didn’t run in this crap today.  I’m a bit worried about black ice on the roads. Those of you in the south, be glad you don’t have to deal with that often!

Hope the weather is better for you, wherever you are! Run Happy folks!

