There are still some things that can make you smile. Check out how much I paid for gas today – less than $13 to fill my Honda Civic’s tank, and it was pretty close to empty.

In case you are wondering, that first number on the left is $1.61. Remember when you had to pay over $4 for gas? This summer, when I visited gas-picturethe West Coast, I paid $4.34 to fill up the rental car’s tank. It used to cost over $30 to fill up my little Civic’s tank, and Bill’s Explorer? Well, you don’t want to know.

Doesn’t it make you wonder how it could have been so high and kept going up, literally day by day, but now it is going down day by day? 

I’ve recently gotten into watching the ABC Show, Extreme Makeover Home Edition. The people whose homes they build, make me feel very fortunate for everything I’ve got in my life. 

I wish I could get involved with something like that. Do you ever feel like you’ve been put on this earth to do more than what you are currently doing?  I know I need to do more, I’m just trying to figure out what it is. I want to make other people’s lives (or even animals) better, that’s for sure.

I realize this is non-running related, just what’s on my mind this evening.   Maybe it’s because I just did a bunch of Christmas shopping this weekend and feel grateful I could get things for my nieces and nephews, when so many other people out there can’t.

Did you see that Sears has a wish registry for military families? Click here to see it.  I’ve heard that Sears does a lot of great stuff for its employees who end up serving abroad.

Hope everyone had a good weekend and ran happy. By the way, we woke up to flurries today,  no real inches actually lasted. When they do, I’ll be sure to take pics, as the first real snowfall is always the pretty one to see.

Thanks for the suggestions for my work’s exercise email list for Friday –  they were both very good! I’ll let you know what we go with!

