trackrunnersPhoto by Orionoir, from Flickr.com

So, I made a decision over the weekend, to join up with the Merrimack Valley Striders, the group who was largely behind the Feaster Five Road Race last Thursday on Thanksgiving. They have an indoor track season with a coach, for an additional fee, that Bill said I could do if I wanted that as my Christmas present. They say the best gifts are the ones that give you experiences, and I think this will be a good experience for me.

To my running partner and friend, Lis, if you’re reading this, don’t worry, I’m not going to try to find someone to replace you.  I just know that I do track workouts better with people than on my own, and continuing to run 8-10 miles on the weekends, by myself, well, it’s getting harder to motivate myself to do it all on my own. Music only gets you so far, and then boredom can set in.  So I’m hoping that if I do some of their hosted runs on the weekends, that I can find someone who runs about my pace and with whom I can talk as we move along. (And Lis, I am really looking forward to running that historical Minuteman trail again with you in the  springtime. You know if it was not for you, I’d totally get lost in there, and never get home…Hell, I’d probably still be there now, being eaten alive by mosquitoes!)

My work has also started up an email list/group for people who like to run/walk.  Through all of you I’ve learned so much these past several months, I feel like I can refer them to a lot of things for runners, but for the walkers, I definitely have some research to do. I’m going to talk to the folks at Runner’s Lounge and find out if walkers are welcome to join.  If any of you know of social networking sites, or just plain good websites out there with advice, etc., for walkers and/or runners, I’d love to hear about them.  I’m hoping I can send out at least one “tip of the week” if not more to the folks I work with (don’t want to overwhelm them, of course), and also let them know about helpful websites, places to find training partners, etc. As I come across them, I’ll share them with all of you too.

Oh, and one other thing, I ran 10 miles today since I had the day off and it felt pretty good. I ran over to my in-laws, a few towns over, and the weather was kind of foggy, then sunny, but not too bad, all in all. I got to see my father in law for about 10 minutes (he was quite cute, trying to offer me juice, trying to see what he could do to make me comfortable.)  Luckily he didn’t take offense when I had to leave before I stiffened up.  The song that kept me going today was Britney Spears’ Womanizer (downloaded some new tunes before the race last week, I know, I am quite ridiculous!)  That link is to Britney’s video on Youtube – embedding was disabled.  I just want to know – is she really naked in that video or is that a body double?!

So, my grateful thought for this evening is that I am very glad Bill and I were able to take today off together. He got to decorate outside for Christmas (it’s his favorite holiday) and I got a good run too.  We also got to go to Lowe’s and buy/order some stuff for our bathroom which we are FINALLY doing over (it’s so in need of it, I can’t even tell you.)  (Yes, you know you are married, when a fun trip is one to Lowe’s…LOL.)

BTW, what does this video make you think of? (And yes, I know I have to update my music page, badly!) If I told you, I’d be dating myself! *wink*

Jane’s Addiction, Been Caught Stealing

