Call me weird, but when it comes to doing speedwork, I am finding that if I have to do it alone, I prefer to do it on a treadmill rather than at the track. Mentally I can tell myself it’s not as far, even though it’s the same thing.

I couldn’t believe that when I got to the gym today about 5:35 a.m. or so, there were people who were already finishing up. Our gym opens up at 4:30 a.m., obviously those are the folks who are there when they open their doors.

This was the first time I’ve done speedwork now in about 7 or 8 weeks, since about two weeks before the marathon in Maine. I figured that the race is 5 miles next week, so it’d be best to do 400 repeats.  I started them off at 7.3 on the treadmill, then upped it to 7.6 for the 4th through 10th repeats.  I walked about .1 in between each one.  The last two were definitely more difficult, I think because my brain was waking up by then.  😦

I also tried out new orthotics/soles in my shoes.  My phsyical therapist recommended I try some that I could find at my local running store before resorting to custom-made ones, which he said could run several hundred dollars. No thanks!  I have to say, after the first few minutes, I got used to them, and could hardly feel a difference between them and m other insoles toward the end of my workout.

They are called Powerstep. powerstep2 True, $28 is not cheap but it’s less than a few hundred, so I’ll take it!

Here’s the bad news – it appears that I actually have plantar fasciitis worse in my right foot than I had it in my left. The left foot and knee are feeling much better since I’ve been going to P.T. but every time he massages my right foot it actually feels worse than I remember it ever feeling for the left foot. So I may be unlucky enough to have to buy one of those night splints to use for a few nights.  But the good news is that I am still able to run without a lot of pain, at least on my weekday runs  – P.T. definitely makes a difference!

Tonight, on what is one of the coldest nights we’ve had in a long time, and on a day where we had wind chills in the teens, I’m grateful to have a warm house to be in, and a car with a heater that works really well.

Run Happy Everyone!

