I was very flattered to receive the Kreativ Blogger Award from Jill last week.  She said “Terri’s site may say she’s the “Middle-of-the-Pack Girl”, but she’s always on top of music recommendations, books, stories and encouragement. Plus, how can I not love someone that works in libraries? I worked in a library for many years and definitely have a fondness for them still!”

Jill, thank you very much for the kind words.  Some days I worry I’m running so slow I could end up finishing last, but I guess as long as I’m standing on this side of the ground, rather than pushing it upward from within the confines of a pine box, I’m doing just fine.

As part of receiving this award, I need to mention 6 things that make me happy. To narrow it down to just six can be difficult, but I’ll try my best.

1. My family. (Of course at times we’ve driven each other crazy, we’re human.)  But hanging out with my younger brother (who’s always so positive about things, and when he’s not, he really worries me) is an event that takes place all too rarely.  Seeing my sister and her kids and hearing them yell out “Aunt TT or Aunt Terri!” and just seeing them healthy and happy is one of my favorite things.  Seeing my brother’s family and his kids, my niece who’s also my godchild, whenever we can, is also pretty cool. My mom has always been there for me, and now that she’s starting reading my blog, I think she’s understanding even more why I’m running all the time, even though in her words “we’re all nuts!” 🙂

2. My husband.  Yep, part of my family, of course, but also my my best friend. He’s the one who calms me down when I am freaking about, about something, the one that makes fun of me when I am acting way too serious, and who generally has a very laid-back way of looking at things.  And also, my biggest cheerleader at races.

3. My running, of course. It’s become my hobby of sorts, I guess, and also it’s become more than that. It’s become a big part of my life.

4.  When I’m showing a student or another library patron how to find something or understanding something and it finally kicks in and they “get it.” 

5.  My pets, Chloe and Callie. Pets only live to eat, sleep, and do their business, and love you as well. They  live to be petted and to be snuggled.  Makes you get a whole new perspective on things sometimes.

6.  Writing, whether it be blogging or otherwise, and reading a really good book.

7.  See, I knew I couldn’t limit it to only 6.  My friends, both those who I am able to see in person, and all of those of you who I have met through blogland.

I’ve got to pick 6 fellow bloggers now to give this award, so here goes:

1. Penny, Planet Nyyep Running.  Penny is always using some new funky way of showing her photos on her blog.  She’s an animal lover like me, almost always runs with her dog Velcro (who reminds me that we need to have animals around us all the time,they are happy to just be alive and around you, kind of make you look at life in a different light). She’s one of the first to congratulate you or wish you well, and also to lend you encouragement when you are feeling down.

2. Kara, from Between the Miles.  Kara’s blog epitomizes Kreativity! Seriously, you have to check it out. She has a way of saying with 10 words what it would take me 150 to say. Her blog is artistry on the web.  Just amazing, really. She’s one of the first blogs I started following and I’m hoping she never stops writing.

3. Kaolee, from Girl on Top.  One, it’s a very interesting title for a blog! She has a great way of getting people involved in the conversation on her blog.   She’s a lot faster than me, and I’d say pretty disciplined in her training, which gives me something to work on.  If you haven’t been reading her blog, check it out!

4. Erin, from Mom on the Run.  Now, Erin’s sidelined with an injury, so I’m guessing she’s probably wondering why she’s being nominated. The thing is, her heart is still into it, and she’s been a great inspiration to her kids.  Her little boys do their “runs” in their yard, complete with “water stops” and everything!  Her little boys are clearly proud of her and want to follow in her footsteps. In no time at all, I’m sure her body will recover and she’ll be out there again hitting the roads. You will, Erin, trust me.

5. Amy, from Chubby Girl Running.  Anyone who’s read Amy’s blog knows about her amazing sense of humor. And her big heart. And how far she’s come in such a short time.  Just read about her race at the Grand Rapids Half-Marathon, and you’ll see what I mean.

6. Karen, from Running While Pathetic.  Yes, Karen, I know you are injured and have not been posting as much since you decided to not run the Detroit Marathon because of your injuries.  But you have always written some great blog posts. Karen came so far this summer, from when she started running. It took such strength to decide to not try to run the race this year, it’ll be worth the wait to do it with her husband next year, when they’re both healthy. I’m  pulling her out of blogging hibernation!!

There are many others who also get this award (in my book), and pretty much everyone does, that’s why we’re reading them!  But right now, it’s getting late here on the East Coast, so I’m heading to bed for the evening.  Tomorrow morning I’m sleeping in until 5:30 or 5:45 – wahoo! Taking the day off after my long run of 10 miles today!

