Before I forget, I wanted to give you a link to John from NYC’s race report from yesterday’s NYC Marathon.  I think he did awesome, running-wise, and as someone pointed out in the comments to his report on Runner’s World’s Forums, he SHOULD be a motivational speaker. How many could read his race report, and then not want to run NYC?!  You can read his report here.

Right now, I am so jealous of those of you who live in warmer climates. That’s right, this is probably not the first time I’ve said/written that, and it certainly won’t be the last.

Got up this morning around 6 a.m., checked the temperature on the thermometer we have over the kitchen sink. Inside temp something like 64 degrees, outside temp something like 24.  WTH was I thinking?!  That running  outside in the cold might be better than working out in the gym which is a bearable, if somewhat hot temperature?

Had my cereal, V8, yogurt and the usual coffee to get me alive, or at least past my usual snarling self before caffeine.  (Ask my husband, it’s so-o-o not pretty!)

Thoughts while running this morning (at least I didn’t have to worry about looking like a coal miner, as Chris fears, since it was light out):

  1. Yeah, could have helped if Bill told me just one more time how cold it was outside before he left. Or that there was frost on the cars. And not for the first time. Sigh…
  2. Yep, the tights, long sleeve running shirt and fleece jacket, maybe not warm enough.
  3. Thank God for thermal hats and gloves.
  4. I WILL eventually warm up, right?!
  5. The hard part about starting out “slow” in this weather is going to be that I am FREEZING to death! I was thinking I’d go HOW FAR this morning?!
  6. I SO hope it is not this cold this weekend.  13.1  miles of this, without headphones, will just be so long to get through.
  7. Not sure why lately but I feel like I have to walk occasionally. Why can’t I stop the negative thoughts from breaking into my head?
  8. Well, at least I’m still running at a fast enough pace that even with walking, I can still get home in time and get to work on time.
  9. This is why I don’t usually like to run in the morning, because then I have to worry still about getting to work on time. I don’t need to deal with the stress of thinking about work while running. Need to stop doing that.  Really.
  10. My God, thankfully I’m halfway. At least I’m not fighting traffic like these poor folks. Usually I’m one of them, watching the runners go by and wishing I was one of them.
  11. Ok, the fact that I am now beating the cars is a sad comment on the traffic around here. And I thought that only happened to me downtown!
  12. Ok, why is that van behind me taking so long to move forward. Please don’t tell me they are looking at my butt in these tights?!!  Yeah, I’m not going to look and make eye contact because that’d be creepy.
  13. I suppose I could wear shorts over the tights but then it’s just one more item of gear/clothing that my headphone cord can get caught up in.
  14. Can’t believe it took me 3-4 miles to see another walker or runner!
  15. Ok, coming up to the hardest part of my route this morning. No, think of it as being the most “challenging” part, that sounds better and more positive after all.
  16. Finally, the Endurolytes are kicking in!
  17. Why is it that my legs finally feel great and I’ve only got about a mile left to go? Why couldn’t they have felt this way the entire way?
  18. Wow, I can’t believe I’ve already run over 6 miles and I still have my whole workday ahead of me!
  19. 8:55 a.m., if I hurry my butt I may even be able to get to work on time.

Oh yeah, my legs started to stiffen up pretty quickly this morning.  Luckily, only 4 or so Advils every few hours seems to work just fine by me, and by tonight, they feel just fine.

Remember to get out there and vote tomorrow, everyone, even if you have to miss a day’s workout, to stand in a long line. This kind of election only comes along every 4 years!

