I had a three day weekend. I LOVE having three days off. I work weekends occasionally, and they allow us to take comp time to make up for those hours.  It was only 4 hours of comp time so I took vacation for the rest of it.  It just doesn’t pay me to drive in an hour each way to work for a total of 3.5/4 hours. 

Didn’t post much this weekend because I was also pretty busy on my computer doing research.  I promise to try to catch up with all of your blogs this week!

Workouts:

I ran 12 miles on Saturday – weather here was absolutely gorgeous, and of course I overdressed for my run. I guess eventually I’ll figure that part out.  12 miles in 2 hours 10 minutes. I was hoping it’d be faster, but I haven’t done speed work since before the marathon, and I’ve been having problems figuring out the ratios of Endurolytes in the less-humid weather. I am hoping to at least do the Seacoast Half this weekend as fast as I did the Maine Coast Half back in September.  I confess, at one point, I kind of got worried I was lost and had to ask a homeowner for directions – I was in my own town, how pathetic is that?! (That’s what you get for trying out parts of a new route.)

Problem is, with this race, it looks like they strictly forbid headphones, which I think is complete crap, but so many races are doing that nowadays. I feel like yelling out, “yep, it’s only those with headphones who are clueless to what’s going on around them.  It’s not like I’ve ever been cut off by someone not wearing headphones, who all of a sudden realizes that there is a water stop on the OTHER side of the street…”  GIVE ME A BREAK.  I’ve run with headphones, I’ve run without them, and unless I’m having a good conversation with someone, I prefer the tunes over the sound of my breathing, thank you very much.

Ok, off of the soapbox.

Music:

By the way, this is one of my favorite iTunes downloads from this weekend:

Opticon, by Orgy (yes, it’s set to a stupid B-rated movie out recently) but the beat is cool! (Erin, I know we both like Crystal Method, what do you think of this one?!)  It’s a good song to play during your last mile or 800, for motivation, when you want to pass other people but not let them pass you!!   🙂 When Bill heard it on my iTunes list, he just started banging his head up and down like a reflex…it was pretty funny!

NYC Marathon:

I watched most of the NYC Marathon this morning on live internet streaming. Paula Radcliffe was just amazing (even if that head bob of hers reminds me of a rooster, it’s so weird).  I’m also happy for Kara Goucher – imagine it’s your marathon debut and you come in third. I think these people are just built differently from the rest of us, don’t you?

John from NYC, who also ran the Maine Marathon with me, broke the 4-hour mark again, setting a course record for himself, I was so happy for him! He did just awesome!!!  CONGRATULATIONS JOHN!! 

KCH, can’t wait to read your race report!

Random stuff – new gear:

My plan for tomorrow is to get up early and go for about 6 miles, then head into work at 11. (Occasionally we all need to work 11-7 shifts.)  I’m just happy because on those days I am able to run in the daylight.

I just bought myself a new headlamp – the BlackDiamond Icon. It’s supposed to be one of the brightest floodlamps there are – shining up to 100 Meters. I’ll write a review after I use it the first time.  Here’s a picture of it below, that they also include on the REI site, where I bought it.  It’s my birthday on Thursday so  I bought it as a gift to myself, courtesy of my mother-in-law. I told her it’s either that or I get squashed like a bug in the road when I run, so she was glad to know her gift money went to something practical.  🙂

