Not sure if I am mentally ready for school to start up again, but I guess I don’t have a choice. Today was a beautiful day here in New England, the kind of day we have wanted all summer, but of which we have had very few. Not too much humidity, if any, no clouds in the sky at all.

My new routine is hopefully to work the “night” shift on Mondays if I can, which is from 11-7, so I can do my cross-training in the morning and then keep my other workouts in the evenings. I can also leave work most nights now at 5, so I won’t always be eating dinner at 9, because I have to say, that was getting old. I wish I could be one of those folks who work out in the morning before work, but I have such a hard time getting up. Once I’m up, I’m good, but getting there is the hard part.

Melissa reminded me this past Saturday, that we are doing 12 miles on Saturday, not the 19 like I thought. It sounds weird to say “just” 12 miles! I can’t believe only 6 weeks ago, that was our long run mileage. Anyway, I am looking forward to it. Hopefully, Melissa’s shins will be healed enough so that she can run at least part of it.

Thanks to Lisa and Alissa for the heads-up on taking ibuprofen while running. I am one of those folks who can take 3 or 4 of them without any problems, but if the experts say not to, I guess I could try out Tylenol instead.

I am definitely still in shock that I can say I ran 18 miles on Saturday. Who cares that I’m not fast – it’s something that a lot of people can’t say they’ve done, and I feel a great sense of accomplishment. What a difference 6 months makes.

Oh, by the way, I am reading Lance Armstrong’s War right now, by Daniel Coyle. (So far, I am agreeing with this writer’s assessment.) I do like how much time the author spends discussing some of the biggest rivals on the biking circuit. Many times Lance is described as being “difficult.” I had heard that before about him but kind of hoped it wasn’t true. Anyway, I’ll write a review of it when I’m done.

Speaking of bikes, Melissa and I were wondering the other day – both of our gyms have two types of stationary bikes. There’s the upright bike that is harder on your back but appears easier on your legs, and there is another one that has a seat that supports your back, but it appears that your legs have to work harder. Does anyone know which one is preferred for cross-training, for runners?

Oh, and you’ll notice my distance for biking I’ve changed to miles from kms. After hearing how far Melissa is biking, I think that’s what I’ve been doing all this time. Her bike seems to make it much clearer what the distance truly is, not the vague “miles or km” mine shows.

Happy Running Everyone!

