My “coach” (aka my husband) had a sneezing fit tonight on his way home from work and then his sinuses started killing him, so he missed my track workout tonight. Oh well, at least I didn’t have to listen to him blowing a whistle nonstop as he had promised he might.  His excuse – “I don’t know when I’m supposed to blow it or when to stop, so how about I just do it nonstop?”  My answer – “sure, if you don’t mind it being shoved somewhere where the sun doesn’t shine.”  I’d like to thank Tamara for giving me that idea. 🙂

So my track workout got shortened tonight. I was feeling good at first, and then felt kind of lightheaded, and then started to lose all ambition. These track workouts went much better when I could do them with Melissa, I have to admit. I was supposed to do 2 x 1200 with 2 minute Rest Intervals, and then 4 x 800 with 2 minute Rest Intervals. I managed the 1200s, and 2 of the 800s. I think I did the 1200s faster than I should have (6:05 and 6:09, should have been 6:15), and then the 800s were 4:05 and 4:09. Melissa, my running partner, if you are out there reading this, should be happy to know that I only tried a few stadiums and then, because I am now getting paranoid about injuries, decided to stop. Does everyone else out there get like this as they get closer to a big race, or am I just being a Nervous Nelly?

My Running Times magazine had an article in it about doing varying types of long runs when training for a marathon. Personally, I go out there with the goal of finishing it and trying to feel good while doing it. They suggest 5 varieties, along with various books:

1. long and steady (that’d be mine) (with suggested reading: Run to the Top by Arthur Lydiard and Garth Gilmore)
2. long run with surges (with suggested reading: Speed with Endurance by Bill Squires and Bruce Lehane)
3. fast-finish long run (Melissa and I have tried this too, I like it for the last mile if I’m feeling pretty good) (with suggested reading: Paul Tergat – Running to the Limit by Jurg Wirz)
4. long run at marathon race pace (guess it’d be good if I really had a clue what this is for me) (with suggested reading: Advanced Marathoning by Pete Pfitzinger and Scott Douglas)
5. pace-change long run (with no suggested reading) (for me this means really slow changing to just plain slow)

Do any of you out there do this? Should I, as a first-timer? Have any of you read any of these books?

Oh, and by the way, I signed up for another half-marathon, the Sea Coast Half-Marathon, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire on Nov. 9th. Melissa and I are planning on doing it together since she can’t do the Women’s Only Maine Coast Half-Marathon on September 21st. I have a feeling I will like that distance better, especially for next year, so that training doesn’t take up so much time. These longer runs are taking more out of me every weekend.

