I think it’s so cute. Amy in Michigan probably knows all about this.  My brother in law, Steve, is signed  up to do the Grand Rapids Marathon on October 19th.  The organizers are also having a kids’ marathon.  The way it works  is like this – the kids sign up and then they need to run 3 miles each week for the next 8 weeks or so. They even have their own workout logbooks.  Then, on the day before the actual adult marathon, the kids go, and get their own bib numbers. They run the last 1.2 miles of “their marathon” on the actual course, over the last 1.2 miles of the 26.2 mile course.  They all get finisher medals too.

My sister’s kids are 7 and 4, with the baby just turning 1 this past June.  She said it was a bit difficult for Jack, the 4 year old, to do a mile, so they are going to start off slower with him and just do a half mile each time out.  I guess he was upset that he couldn’t keep up with his older brother but she kept telling him, “Jack, it’s ok, you can walk, we don’t need to run the entire way.”  For those of you new to my blog, here’s one of my earlier posts about Jack, whom we refer to as The Tank.  (I don’t have pictures of the kids’ faces on this blog to respect their parents’ wishes.) 

Anyway, I’m surprised more races don’t do something like this. It’s a good way of getting the kids involved and getting them interested in exercise, I think. My sister will likely do the race with them and push Katie in the stroller.

