My running partner is injured – shin splints.  She told me what her symptoms were last night and I thought, that has to be it. Luckily today she saw a doctor who also runs, and that was his diagnosis. So she can’t run for about 3-5 weeks.

So, the first item I say I am scared of, half in jest. I was telling my husband that now I have to do speed workouts on my own on the track. He offered to come and help me, as long as he gets a whistle.  For those of you who don’t know my husband, you should know that I generally tell people I don’t have kids, because I already have one, and he’s 34 years old.  That’s enough work!  Click here for a picture of him(He’s the one without the hat.)

You have to now picture my husband with his whistle, a trucker’s hat on his head with the word “coach” in big letters, a clipboard, and a pair of old shorts from the 70s with a pair of knee socks pulled up to his knees. Maybe with a really out of date shirt like they used to wear on the show Chips in the seventies. Are you getting this image? This is what he has threatened to do.  Lord, give me strength….sigh….I may have created a monster.   😉

Ok, second thing. Tomorrow we run 17 miles. I don’t know why this is worrying me so much. Last week was 16 and that was alright. Maybe it’s because 17 is really leaning toward the 20 side of 15, and that makes it seem that much longer.  I know it’s irrational, I have to address that and move on, and use the same techniques that have kept me calm the last two weeks, especially when I ran 15 miles all on my own and felt great.  It could be because we are running in a different location tomorrow, and I’ve made peace with the route we run in Wakefield. 

Anyway, I need to put to work some of the quotes I’ve underlined from my Running Within book, such as these below:

  1. “Remember that any distraction will persist if you resist.  Rather than expending energy fighting the distraction, view it as a friend who visits occasionally.”  The book then says to tell the distraction you’re busy, you’ll get back to it later.
  2. If you’re going to run on an unfamiliar course, “you can still mentally prepare for the challenges of such a course. In a relaxes state, you want to visualize how you felt during previous successful performances….Remember that was you and it can be repeated.”
  3. Control what you can. “Any attempt to control the results or outcome of a run or race is useless. Trying to control that which cannot be controlled creates the usual counterproductive physiological reactions of anxiety, pressure and tension.”
  4. “Fixed mind-sets about what is possible obscure the unlimited boundaries of your potential.”
  5. “Affirm that new courses are my power.” (emphasis in original.)

Just have to keep repeating those to myself.  Good luck to everyone who may be running races this weekend or conquering new distances or times.

Happy Running Everyone!

