If you are new to reading my blog, you are probably wondering, just what in the world is a “snailpipe?” Besides being my made up word, it’s what you get when you cross a pair of lead-heavy pipes or legs, and a snail. I knew that with my last few long runs going well for me, I was due for a crappy run and today it happened.

I thought of how Kara usually characterizes each of her runs, and today the word that kept going through my mind was “lumbering,”, for the whole whopping 4.3 miles. It’s amazing how the human body functions – you can run 15 or 16 and feel great, and then two days later, find yourself struggling after only 1 or so. I don’t know if it’s because I was running at 8:30 in the morning rather than in the evening like I normally do, or if it was more humid at home, but it was difficult. The way I look at it, though, better to happen today than on a long run like this weekend coming up (17 miles on the schedule, trying not to think about it).

Normally Monday is a cross-training or off-day for me, but I didn’t realize that there was a Planet Fitness gym in my hometown, until it was too late. Oh well, nothing to stress over.

On the Olympics front, how sad was everyone else to see Deena Kastor AND Magdalena Lewy-Boulet have to pull out of the marathon?! I was out to dinner with my mom, and even asked the restaurant manager if I could move to a different table once I realized some of the TVs in the place were showing the marathon while others were playing baseball! Needless to say, I think I’ve become a little obsessed! šŸ™‚

