So today was recovery day. Rather than doing recovery runs, since I am trying to follow the FIRST training plan, I’ve been doing recovery workouts on the exercise bike. I already noticed today that the effort seemed easier than it did a few weeks ago. Keeping a cadence of 95-100 for 45 minutes is not exactly easy when you’ve got some very tired legs, but I found that starting off by also reading from a good book can make things go along easier.

While I was there, I happened to look up at one of the big TVs hanging from the ceiling. They had the inductions of the 2008 honorees into the Olympic Hall of Fame. (Guess it happened in June of this year – where was I?!) Didn’t realize such a thing existed before today, I have to admit.

The timing was perfect for me – they were showing Joan Benoit Samuelson winning the 1984 Women’s Marathon, and then they showed her as she looked today. Holy Crap! The woman looked AMAZING. She was in an evening dress and everything, but wow, I hope I look like her when I get to be 50. Just amazing. Her arms looked more jacked than Madonna’s at the height of her working-out stage.

They also showed this guy, John Morgan, who was blind, and who won 15 gold medals for swimming in the ParaOlympics. They showed him with every single medal hanging from around his neck at the same time. Pretty cool!

Ok, so now where was I? Oh yeah. The mind-body-spirit-music connection thing. I just don’t get why so many races are now outlawing headphones. Really, there is so much evidence out there that listening to the right music can help most of us work out better. For me, I have been realizing that occasionally a new song can come along that I really like for its beat, or the words, and it helps me on a run. More often than not, though, I find a song helps me out because it reminds me of a certain event or time of my life when I was pretty happy, and that helps me to keep on moving forward, even if it’s just for the next 3 to 4 minutes or so. At least, it’s 3 to 4 minutes longer than I likely could have gone without the music cranking in my ears.

By now you’ve all probably surmised I am a child of the 80s, so here’s a song I remember very well, and from a movie I must have seen at least 55 to 60 times, and which song helped me out a bit today. 🙂 And oh yeah, after seeing this movie I had model airplanes hanging from my ceiling in my bedroom for many years. I really wanted to be a pilot for many years, too bad I wear contacts. 😦 Like I said, music has the ability to make me think of a different time in my life, thereby taking my mind off of any physical pain or nervous anxiety I may be feeling (for whatever reason) at the time while running. And that, as they say, is a good thing.

