I followed the FIRST training program yesterday (it calls for running 3 days per week, with at least 2 days of cross-training.)  I knew I was not going to be able to work out or run tonight since Bill and I had plans with Lis and her husband, Steve, so I decided that after 13 or so miles on Saturday, the legs probably just couldn’t stand for running yesterday. I rode the bike at the gym, kept myself between 80-100 rpms for 40 minutes, and read the end of my Lance Armstrong book, It’s Not About the Bike.  I have to admit, I feel pretty good today, which is definitely not what I expected to be the case. Lis and I have decided we are going to do a track workout together on this Thursday night – this will be the first time I can do it with someone else, and I’m helping it motivates me to keep it up rather than giving up early on if I feel it’s not going as planned. We’re going to have to make our best estimate on what Lis would run for a 5K because she’s never run that distance race before – wish us luck!

It’s Not  About the Bike is an amazing book that I highly recommend.  At the end of the book he asks his doctor what he had at first thought about his chances – if he had been in the worst 50% of cases he had ever seen.  Basically he kept going to a smaller number, and it turns out his doctor had originally perceived Lance’s situation to be among the worst 3% of cases. That’s how bad his numbers were and his prognosis was. Lance had originally thought that he had a 20% chance of survival, I believe.

One thing that I found remarkable was that while he was in remission, he made an acronym out of the word Cancer.

Courage

Attitude

Never Give Up

Curability

Enlightenment

Remembrance

Pretty inspiring if you ask me.  Consider me a Lance fan.

