I’d like to give a shout out to my brother’s friend, April Coughlin (her web page is also linked on this blog, to the right, under “favorite links”.) April is going to be competing in the New York City triathlon this weekend. If you have been reading my blog from the beginning, you know her history. If not, this is what you need to know about April.

I’ve not yet been able to meet her in person, but from all accounts, she seems like an amazing person. When I mentioned her to my cousin, Julie, who has worked at SUNY Albany since we went to school there in the early 90s, she said “I think I have met her before.” She remembered April even though it was about 7-10 years ago when they were introduced. She said “I remember her being pretty unique and pretty amazing at that.” My cousin Julie is pretty amazing herself, so April, if you are reading this, you should know it’s pretty high praise.

April will be competing as a wheelchair competitor. She has used a wheelchair since she was 6, when a car accident with a drunk driver caused her spine to be injured. I am not telling you this because she needs pity, far from it, but to explain why she’s a wheelchair competitor.

For me, anyone who has the strength and courage to compete in a triathlon is amazing, in a wheelchair or not. Personally, the swim would do me in (I’d sink.) Good luck tomorrow, April, and KICK SOME ASS!

