I am back from our week on Cape Cod. Rested, yes, definitely got more sleep, thank God. I learned a few things about myself while I was there.

  1. The name of this blog seems to be woefully inaccurate. “Slow ass” might be more accurate.
  2. As time goes on, I appear to be running slower, if that is even possible.
  3. I LOVE running in the evenings, preferably right around sunset, MUCH more than running in the morning. Morning running person, I am NOT.
  4. I LOVE running in the dark. Yes, let me say it again. I LOVE running in the dark, so much so I bought myself a flashlight so I could do it some more, and live to tell about it. 🙂
  5. I LOVE running near the ocean like Penny does with Velcro because (a) it’s so pretty and (b) there is usually a good breeze that goes along with it. The smell of the salt marshes near it at what appears to be a constant low tide, I can do without. (READ: it smells like a porta pottie that’s filled to the brim.)
  6. It is ok to take two days off after your long run if your body needs it. I did.
  7. “Please don’t stop the music” by Rihanna can be a very motivating song.
  8. Last but not least, I CAN RUN FOR TWO HOURS WITHOUT STOPPING!! That night, I seriously could have kept running forever, at least I felt like it. (The knees made their own comment during mile 10-11, the furthest ever I have ever run. Ever.) Yes, it was slow, 11 minute miles, but I don’t care one bit. The point is, I did it. :-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

The route I did for last week’s long run took me out of my in-laws’ neighborhood, into Hyannis Harbor, out toward Hyannisport (where the Kennedy Compound is located) and back again. The ocean breezes felt so good! I had started out, thinking that sunset was at 9 that night (not sure how I got that into my head, but I did.) It was actually around 8:25ish, I think. The Garmin stopped on me twice with no explanation (the nerve of that thing!), so Bill and I had to drive the route a few days later – and we found it was about 10.9 miles, so oh hell, I’m going to round up to 11!! I was originally planning on just running for an hour and 40 minutes, but then just felt like keeping on going. After the two weeks of crappy runs before it, it was so needed!!

For those of you who would like to see some pictures of the Cape and our travels (it was a low-key vacation, plagued by lots of “unsettled weather days” so a few of the boat tours we wanted to take were cancelled for lack of sign-ups) I’m going to use Bubbleshare as soon as the website comes back up, and put pictures on here for you.

This was the song that kept me going that night – Rihanna’s Don’t Stop the Music.

