Honestly, the fact that I ran 5 miles tonight is due to her.  We met at Horn Pond, and ran 3 miles, had some water and stretched a bit, and then ran another 2. It could have been longer but we looked at the time and said “ok, 5 is good for tonight.”  We had pouring rain in the afternoon and that made it a bit humid when we started, but I didn’t notice it too much because we were too busy talking. We even first missed our trail turnoff because we were talking (luckily we’d only run a few feet out of the way.)  Also, she’s fearless when it comes to “trails trails” and took the lead when I didn’t know where we might turn out. When we’d come to a fork in the trail, she just somehow knew which one to take. (She wears her heart rate monitor, and I wear the Garmin, so between the two of us, we have the gadgets covered.)  Thank you, Lis, I appreciate it.

By the way, I’ve seen this video a few times, and it’s still painful to watch. It’s of Robert Cheruiyot in the 2006 Chicago Marathon. Please God, let this not happen to me – I’ll be so sweaty at that point, I’d probably launch myself into the crowd, that is, whatever crowd may still exist by the time I drag my butt over the finish line.

How Not to End a Race

By the way, and this is totally unrelated to falling on the mat, did you know that they sell running shoes that have pee holes in the bottom? Seriously, that way if you don’t want to take time to visit the porta pottie, you just pee down your leg, it runs down into your sock, and then out your shoe. My brother has a pair. When he first bought them, I said “Jamie, do you think that maybe you’re getting too fast now? Because I’m thinking, that is just wrong if you are getting to the point where using the actual bathroom is considered too much of a time suck.” 🙂  He just laughed.

I also used to work with a woman who was really fast in the marathon. As in, she met her husband at the Olympic Trials, fast. So yes, a fast person met another fast person, and then they had a kid, someone who at the age of 5, will likely be much faster than I could ever be.  (She said one time he took his time running the Boston Marathon, and did it in, yes, are you ready?  2:35.)  The line to hurl forms to the right of me, thanks.  Anyway, this colleague ran a race once where the person running in front of her was crapping herself. 

I think it is safe to say that I will never find myself with that kind of a dilemna.  Either of them. There are just some things that I think should not be done SIMULTANEOUSLY with running! 🙂 

By the way, folks, I am really sorry if I have now cursed some of you into having bad runs.  I will try to send back the good karma to all of you that you have sent my way the last few days. I’m going to try to do my Winchester hills tomorrow night because where I’ll be on the Cape, hills are pretty much nonexistent on that scale. Then I have a few days off until this weekend. Trying to do my really long run all on my own is going to be rough. I think new music on the iPod is in order.

 

 

 

 

