Holy Mother of God, it is hot here. I thought yesterday was bad, but today was definitely warmer. At one point today, I checked the temperature – 101, and that was WITHOUT the humidity. Originally, I had planned on running on my way home but when I saw it was still near the 100 mark, I decided to rethink that strategy and run later on in the evening from home. I really hoped it would downpour as it was forecasted to do. I admit, I usually need to run on my way home, as once I get home, that’s it, I’m done for the night and don’t want to have to worry about anything else.

So, I waited, and waited. Watered the flowers and vegetable garden we recently planted, plus the hardy perennials, and then waited some more, for the temperature to go down. Finally, I couldn’t wait any longer, or  it’d likely be dark by the time I could run my measly 3 mile short route around my neighborhood. At 7:45 p.m., it was only down to 88 + humidity.  I wore as little clothes as possible, just my running bra and shorts, so I was still decent! If running in the dark would have been an option, I would have chosen it – I was so HOPING for it to be pour rain on me! (Does that make me a weirdo?!)

To be honest, even though I walked tonight a bit between mile 1.5 and 2, I don’t care.  I did 3 miles in about 29:30, even with walking, so I’m happy with what I did. Tonight’s run was not supposed to be about time at all, but rather about getting used to running in the heat.  I thought to myself that if Robert in Chicago could do a half-marathon on Sunday in that heat, I could try to at least do 3 miles.   I also told myself it’d be ok if it ended up being a power walk.  

God,  if you could have seen me last year – if you would have asked me if I was going to run outside in something like this, I would have laughed in  your face!

So, this video is for all of you folks out there who have been used  to running in the heat, be it  humid or not. I have so much respect for you, I really don’t know how you get used to it! 

Wayne’s World, We’re Not Worthy!

On another matter, I went to a Nutrition Clinic with Team in Training this weekend. I wanted to make sure I was eating the right stuff before and after I run. Honestly, before I started training for this marathon, it would never have crossed my mind to actually eat food during a race. Yet, here I was, hearing that it’s ok to eat pretzels, etc., if you’ve been running for a long period of time. For someone like me who sweats a lot while running (like a farm animal, as my loving husband says, thank you so much, Bill) (and who LOVES food, it’s amazing I am not the size of the Goodyear Blimp, literally), this was music to my ears. The woman who did the clinic is a triathlon athlete, and was totally cool.  She told us that when she ran the Boston Marathon, she was so happy to see people holding out food – she said that even though she’s a nutritionist, she had underestimated what she needed to eat to not feel hungry, so she didn’t care if she ran back and forth from one side of the street to the other, so she could “double fist” food! 🙂  I like it! She offers an e-course for Nutrition for Athletes, if any of you are interested.

