I ended up not being able to run at all yesterday, with all the gardening and wedding stuff so I tried to run today. I told myself it’d be a tempo run for my 4.1 mile loop around my neighborhood which has two hills along the way. (I used to think they were bad, and then I met my Winchester hills. hah!)  Tempo runs are still my crappy runs, but they make the good ones worth the wait. 

If you’re a baseball fan  (and I hope, a Red Sox one), you know all about the Due Theory.  When a hitter is in a major slump, after a while, it just becomes inevitable that he’s going to break out of it.   That’s what we said when David Ortiz, our Big Papi (love that guy!) was not hitting well at all this past spring. He had to be “due” for a big hit soon.  We congratulate ourselves on being so smart when the hitter proves our suspicions to be true. 🙂

I had been having good runs lately, so I guess I was due for a bad one.  My legs can take about 2 miles to wake up sometimes. This morning, they just decided to stay in their coma the entire way.  The brain was awake, the lungs were about 90% there, but the legs, they just never came along with the rest of me the entire way. I ended up doing what I’ll call intervals instead – basically I ran the first 1.25 miles ranging anywhere from an 8:30-9:30ish pace.  Walked a bit, then ran another mile or so, including the first of the two hills.  Walked a bit, then ran again.  Total time was about 41:45, the same as if I’d taken my time along the way.  I could have beaten myself up for the rest of the day, and truth be told, the me of last year or even a few months ago probably would have. The me of now – nope.  I was pissed at myself while in the midst of the crappy run, but afterwards, I realized something. It’s the crappy runs that make the good runs good.   Without them, every day would be perfect, and we wouldn’t be able to take delight in those days where everything seems to be working perfectly in sync.

I was pretty productive for the rest of my day off so all is not lost. Planted all my veggies (I found I need more – for me this is an achievement because normally I buy way too much and then end up cramming everything in way too close!) and put down a whole bunch of mulch wherever I could do it in the shade, so the placing looks random, but oh well.

Chris asked me the other day if I liked the magazine Running Times better than Runner’s World.  To be honest, I like them both, but for different reasons. I feel like Runner’s World is more helpful to me, with suggesting workouts, etc., for the average runner, not just the elites.  My brother had recommended Running Times to me, and most of the folks who work at Marathon Sports near my work tend to like it better too – finding it more of a true running magazine.  Honestly, it’s more for the front-of-the-packers like my brother Jamie, in terms of workouts, etc.   It also seemed for several months as though it had this major focus on marathons, to the point where I thought of cancelling my subscription (this is before I took that giant leap off of the sanity tree and decided to train for one myself!)  What I do like about it though is the inspiration it gives me. There is a lot of coverage of the elites in there, of each of the big marathon and track races, and some nice personal in-depth profiles of the elites, and near-elites of the world. I definitely felt like I knew more about the Women’s Marathon Olympic Trials race by reading through it, and that made the  experience all that more memorable to me. I know I’ll never be like those folks but I like seeing how the other half of the running world lives.

There is one small thing that I read in Running Times though that bothers me. There was an article that talks about how to train for a half-marathon.  They call anyone in it who runs 10 minute miles or slower, “slower runners.”  Slow as compared to my brother, I may be, yes.  But I don’t think I run like molasses, just  like an average person.  And some days 10 minute miles seem slow to me, on others they don’t, it’s all about how I am feeling that day.  There are some races where a 10 minute miler can be in the middle of the pack.  To a back of the packer, a 10 minute miler may seem like  a real speedster.  So, see, that is why the magazine is aimed at those runners at the front of the pack.  I just keep that in mind when I read it, and it doesn’t bother me as much as it used to.

So anyway, there you go, sorry this post is so wordy.  Need to get some sleep, tomorrow is my first long day shift, and it always takes me a few of them to get back into the swing of things and get adjusted to the really early wake-up time.

 

