You may have noticed a new commenter by the name of “HM” earlier today on my blog.  Yes, my husband can be so sneaky – that was him! He took some videos of me on our digital camera this weekend, but my blog wouldn’t let me add in .AVI files, so all his hard work was for nothing…;-)

His new nickname for me is HM, as in High Maintenance.  He kids me about being a high maintenance runner, as compared to Jamie. His video showed me rummaging through my pink (girly, I know, but I love it) gym bag to find my headphones.  If you look at the pictures before the race, you can see I’m wearing 2 gadgets (iPod and Garmin watch) and a hydration belt, and my Brooks hat, which was the best $20 ever spent, I swear. It looks and feels like this one, but without the Hanson logo. Jamie, meanwhile, just kind of gets up and goes, with only his Gu and water hydration stuff.

So, now that he and I are running together in Maine in October, we were talking about what I should use for hydration. I’ve been using one of those waist packs. To be honest, it’s a pain in the ass. It hits me on the butt every other step. Jamie suggested I might want to use one of the Camelbak hydration packs, either the 50 or 70 oz. He said those fuel belts with the little bottles never seem to give him enough water to last over time – they only provide 40 oz. of water. He said he “sweats a lot.”  I need to be honest here – he probably just “glistens” in comparison to me. If you don’t believe me, ask Bill how far he runs away from me whenever I walk through the door after a run. 🙂 My brother-in-law, Steven also said he tends to run out before the end of a marathon, also, with those fuel belts. That’s two people I respect who’ve both said the same thing, which makes me worry.

What do any of you use out there – anyone try the Camelbak ones yet and like or not like them?  I know it will be heavy at the beginning, and get lighter as I go. I like the idea of being able to drink whenever I want to, and not having to rely on whatever the race gives me. I’d be curious to hear what others have tried and found out – I know we are all different, of course, but it’s good to hear from other honest opinons. Thank  you!

I am proud, by the way, to be a high maintenance runner!!!!

 

 

