Got up early this morning so I could post. Some people get up to run, I get up to blog. (What’s wrong with this picture?!)

I just love the Cape. If Bill and I could live there full time and make a living doing what we do, we totally would do it in a heartbeat! Until then, we’ll keep on saving and dreaming. And wait for a few weeks until we can go back down for vacation for a week, when the ocean water will hopefully be much warmer than it was this weekend. Right now the water temps are only in the 50’s, which is totally frigid. We were only there for the weekend, but it always feels like the days move slower there, and believe me, that’s an awesome thing.

On Sunday, I ran in one of the Great Hyannis Road Races, the 7.2 miler. On Saturday, Bill and I took a copy of the map and tried to drive the course so I’d know what to expect the next morning, and know where any of the hills or inclines might be, where the shade (if any) might be. We ended up driving out of our way, and thank God, because it seemed awfully long.

Here is what I learned: I like running in the rain so much better than on nice day! Later that day, I said to Bill that I would have preferred that it rained that day, and he looked at me and said, “when did you ever think you would say that, huh?!” After last Thursday, I definitely like running in the rain better – I tend to run faster!

I came in 123 out of 148 overall. My overall per mile pace was 10:23 – officially, my time was 1:15:33, but of course, there were no timing chips, and I certainly didn’t toe the front of the line. My Garmin showed I actually ran 7.37 – it was hard to “run the lines” on a course that was not really closed to drivers, if you know what I mean.  By my calculations (I use the calculator on Arkansasrunner.com) and that showed me as running 10:10 miles – I think my official time was off by about 30 seconds or so.

I know, I moved to the back of the pack for this one. But, it’s only the second time in my life I’ve run that far outside, and only the third time ever in my life, if you include my run on the treadmill last fall. So, I’m not going to beat myself up over it. At first when people started passing me in the beginning, it was getting depressing, and then I said to myself, “it’s ok, I’ll catch up to them in the end.” Truth is, I didn’t, but I finished. I only walked through one water stop, and knew when to “gu it up” at the right times, and spaced out my powerade. Plus, if it had been last year, you can bet that I would only have felt strong enough to run a 5K, if that, and I would have maybe even walked, since the sun always makes me feel more tired than I am. Mentally, I kept saying to myself, “I can do this, I can do this,” and I did. I felt like “that girl” – people would walk sometimes until I caught up to them, and then they’d start running (like, mentally, they must have said to themselves, if that girl in the blue catches up to me, I’m going to start running! :-()  In a few weeks, when I’m further along in my mileage, I am sure I could then do it at a faster pace.  There’s always something to work on.

The really good news about the race is this – I felt REALLY strong the last mile. There was a girl in front of me and I said to myself, “I’m going to kick that girl’s butt.” And I did, all the rest of the way in! 🙂 And the guy in front of her too! 🙂 🙂 (Of course, he had stopped to take a picture which kind of took some of the competitive fun out of it, but he DID really come in behind me, as Bill’s pictures will show. He’s the one in the orange shirt.)

Here’s some thumbnail photos:

walkman before the race

Bill and I just couldn’t believe someone was actually carrying a Walkman – when’s the last time you’ve seen one of those – old-school! (I think she beat me, as did most on Sunday. Ah, well.)

me before the race

Me, before the race, still smiling. They only closed the traffic on Main Street for us to start running.

action shot of me after 2 miles

Running after the 2 mile mark – Bill suprised me by showing up here!

 

near the hyannis harbor

Running near the Hyannis Harbor

 

lighthouse in hyannisport

This was along the route, about the 3.5 mile mark. Bill and I took this picture later on, on Sunday. We think it’s actually part of someone’s private residence, not a real lighthouse!

nearing the finish line

Near the finish line – see the orange T-shirt guy in the back? I beat him, yay!

I’d like to say thank you to all of you who sent me well wishes on Friday – I thought of them many times while running, and they really did help to keep me going.  I feel like I have such a wonderful support group with all of you who read this blog, thank you very much!

 

 

