I decided to take tonight off because after Saturday’s cross-training session on the exercise bike, and the race yesterday, I needed it. For some reason, unknown even to me, when I was at the gym on Saturday with Bill (he was, in his words, “off the D.L., so he could go”), I decided to do as many RPMs for as long as I could handle, which was over 100 for a while. Quite stupid the day before a race, I know, but I blame my iPod and the new music I recently bought.ย  That’s why I chided myself during the race yesterday when those negative thoughts kicked in and I wanted to stop. As Bill said, my Garmin watch is so big, I could just stop and say “beem me up, Scottie” if I wanted to, and then the pain and suffering would all be over. ๐Ÿ™‚

I started my first serious fundraising efforts this past weekend, and all I can say, is that the generosity of people astounds and floors me, and I say this quite seriously. Wow. It makes me feel good about what I am doing. In addition to the donations, I have received such kind words and thoughts from people, that I know I cannot fail. Some people have said that they think I’m inspiring, or that my blog is to them, and while I appreciate that (I really do), I consider myself to be just like everyone else, except that in deciding to run a marathon, I have “fallen off of the sanity tree, and hit every branch on the way down.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Rest assured, I WILL finish the marathon, and I WILL be standing up straight when I do it, not crawling. Those are my two main goals. The other is to somehow do it between 4 hours and 4 hours, 20 minutes, if at all possible. That means I have quite a lot of work ahead of me. We’ll see what happens.

I think my brother’s blog will soon be up and running (no pressure there, Jamie. Ha!) Of course he was one of the first calls I made about the race yesterday. As usual, he was supportive. This next comment though will tell you what different leagues he and I are in, though. He ran 17 miles yesterday as part of his training for the ultramarathon (or as I call it, the “ARE YOU INSANE?” race) he plans on running in July. He ran 7 1/2 miles across Brooklyn, met up with his running buddy (think his name is Steve) who is going to run the race with him. Then they ran another 8 miles together or so, around an 8 minute pace, or something like that. Mind you I am lucky to do one 8-minute mile. He would like to do the first 20 miles of the ARE YOU INSANE? race at his usual marathon pace (you all don’t want to know the details, trust me) and then slow down for the next thirty miles.

I find him to be so inspiring and I’m so proud of him, can you tell? He’s my little brother (ok, younger, not smaller, as you can tell from the pics), yet in many ways I look up to him. He says he is not naturally fast, and that he needs to work at it constantly. Yet he’s much faster than I’ll ever be. He’s always had a positive attitude, yet it’s something I have had to work on. I suppose it’s all a matter of perspective.

I saw this quote on the top of Notes of a Non-Runner’s site today, and I think it is quite fitting for my outlook right now, one I know I want to keep. (Thank you to all of you who gave me suggestions on books to strengthen the mental aspect of my training last week!)

“ONE OF THE THINGS THAT HAS BECOME CLEAR TO US THROUGH WORKING WITH PEOPLE TRAINING FOR THE MARATHON IS THAT IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN A POSITIVE ATTITUDE ABOUT TRAINING AND RUNNING, IT IS NECESSARY TO DEVELOP A POSITIVE ATTITUDE ABOUT LIFE IN GENERAL” – The Non-Runner’s Marathon Trainer.

