I was asked last week about whether there were any good websites out there to map running routes. I know that the USATF website has one, and it has a searchable database of running routes. I liked the database (even saw the elevation of the Maine Marathon, which was better than that of the  Boston Marathon), but didn’t do so well with the actual mapping tool – maybe I’m doing something wrong.  I know there’s also MapMyRun, but honestly I think I lack the manual dexterity or something to use these things – it’s like I need to re-learn how to use a drawing tool or something. 

It’d be nice to know the distance of a route before I start out so I don’t feel like I have to keep checking my Garmin watch all the time. Any suggestions would be appreciated, and Rob from Northern VA, if you’re reading this, I hope you can use either of these sites, or that someone else has some great suggestions.

