Chris from Gibtown Runner had a post the other day with many items on which you could spend your tax rebate. Here’s one more to add to the list: the Ultrasole by Sorbothane. On my long run last week, my right foot started hurting a lot right around the ball of my foot. This has happened with my Dyads, and now my new Adrenalines, so I know it’s not the shoes, it’s me. I have VERY flat feet, and I thought if it is something that starts to hurt, and then spread, at 5 miles, what is it going to feel like at 20? I had tried some really small gel inserts before but they seemed to crowd my feet.

The folks at Marathon Sports (awesome store by the way, but I think they might only be in Massachusetts) suggested I try these insoles, and I have to say, they are awesome! I had never heard of replacing the insoles in your shoes before but a coworker suggested I do it, and now I’ll be using these in literally every pair of running shoes I buy. They were a bit on the expensive side, I think, considering I already paid $70 for the shoes (on sale) but well worth the money. We’ll see how they stand up to the true test tomorrow when I try to run 7 miles for Emilie!

