I had to work the late shift tonight so I was unable to run again. Ordinarily, I would have tried to run in the morning but I had a couple of medical appointments to attend instead. I had a mammogram and an ultrasound done.

Don’t worry. Everything is just fine, as I thought. My doctor was just being cautious which is what I really like about her. Better safe than sorry.

The reason I’m even mentioning all of this is because I wanted to talk about a person I met in the waiting room. I found myself sitting next to a very pleasant lady who I could tell was nervous or tense about the exam. I told her that I was trying to not get all worked up about it since some people had told me it’s fine and others, not so much. I was choosing to not worry about it until I might have something to worry about. Anyway, to make a long story short, I am grateful I had some time to speak with this woman. It turns out, her son is in the Marines, and just received a promotion last week. That’s the good news. He is also being deployed to Iraq. She mentioned he has to go to California in the middle of May, where he’ll be for three months before heading over to Iraq. She said that she worries about him, of course, but that she accepts that he feels this is what he needs to do. His platoon has already gone over, but he didn’t go with them at the time. He was allowed to stay in the States because his father was diagnosed with Alzheimers, and then she had fallen ill. She told me that she can no longer drive because she suffers from seizures.

As this lady was talking to me, she was trying to put on a brave face and smile. Here was a lady that is slowly losing her husband, to what I think is one of the most cruelest diseases, both to the victim, and to the family. She’s worried about losing her son as well.  I said to her that she seemed to have the right attitude, and then I rephrased that and said, that “she seemed to have the best attitude she could have, under the circumstances.” She said that was absolutely right, that she was trying to have the best attitude possible.  We chatted a while longer and then they called my name, at which time I told her I had really enjoyed talking with her, and wished her good luck.

After I got called into my exam, I thought to myself, now that’s someone I’m glad to have met. There are many positive people in the world, and many not-so-positive ones.  I do remember being one of the latter, and am glad I am no longer that way.  I am finding more and more that those of us who exercise regularly seem to have more positive attitudes in the long run. I am going to think of her and send her good mental energy vibes on May 17th, when her son leaves for California, the first leg of his year-long deployment.

I certainly hope my fellow patient’s exam came out the way she wanted it to. She certainly deserves it.

