I’d like to thank every single one of those women who ran on Sunday for being so awesome, amazing, and inspiring. I feel so lucky to have been able to watch so many FAST women run on Sunday morning from my spot on Memorial Drive. I was able to see them run toward the Sonesta, and then run back in the direction of the Mass Ave bridge (for those of you not familiar with Boston lingo, that’s the Massachusetts Ave bridge that I’m talking about.) I was close to where they picked up their specially marked water bottles and Gu/gels, so I was able to get some good pictures. (I have more – just let me know if there’s someone you want to see and I can check to see if I got one of her!)

For those of you who are fans of the Hanson Distance Project, it was great to see so many of their team had qualified. Everytime I saw Desiree Davila, she looked great. I can’t wait to see what she accomplishes over the next four years.

Magdalena Lewy Boulet in the lead

The above photo is of Magdalena Lewy Boulet during one of her leading laps. That woman was just amazing. This photo appears to be taken much closer than it really was because I used my zoom feature – don’t worry, I would NOT stick my camera in a runner’s face. After she passed by, Jamie commented that she was running really smartly, right along the inner edge of the road, and that she had amazing form.

This next photo is of Deena Kastor, who I was worried about for a while during the race because she was almost 2 minutes behind (to the spectators it felt like more) but who was just awesome to watch how she started cutting down that deficit. WOW.

Deena Kastor starting to make her move

Group photo of several runners on Sunday – I believe this was toward the beginning of the race, since it was one of the first ones off of my digital camera, and also because they’re so bunched together. They all really spread out during that last lap of the Core Loop.

multiple runners at the beginning of the Olympic Trials on April 20, 2008

I think this next person is Brett Ely, from Cambridge, MA! During the race, I stupidly had forgotten to print out a listing of the names and bib #s of the runners. just kept yelling out her number or ringing my cow bell nonstop! She was awesome, acknowledging the crowd and everything!

Brett Ely, doing amazingly well on April 20, 2008

Oops, my next one was supposed to be of Wendi Ray – will have to fix that tonight from home , where I have all of my pictures saved! I read about her in Runner’s World – how she owns a restaurant with a bar with her husband and that Sunday was one of the few days that it was closed during the year.


Next one is Carre Joyce, and someone for whom I can’t read her number.

Carre Joyce at the Olympic Trials

Oh, and by the way, I’ve looked and I didn’t get a picture of Emily LeVan, but I checked her site today, Two Trials, and it looks like she even surpassed her goal of fundraising – that’s awesome! Oh, and please note I’ve added a link to her site on the right hand side of this page.

Here’s Zoila Gomez:

Zoila Gomez, #7, at the Olympic Trials

Seeing all that the women of Sunday morning’s race could accomplish really inspired my workouts the last few days. Although I will never be as fast as them, just thinking of them tended to keep my legs moving a lot faster and to give me hope that my running will pay off throughout the summer and the upcoming fall when I run a HALF-MARATHON! Now I just have to figure out which one – the Bay State Half Marathon, which is “fast and flat”, or the Boston Half-Marathon, or the Nike Half-Marathon, or the Portland Half-Marathon?! (The last two would be if I did Team-in-Training which I’m hoping to learn more about this week at an informational meeting.) I’ll let you all know once I decide – thank you to those who have asked!

Thank you, again ladies, for a wonderful Olympic Trials Marathon!

