You may have noticed I have not talked about where I’ve run since Friday. I have to admit, yesterday my legs felt like rubber, and I had a few commitments to get to, so I took the day off. Oh yeah, and bought my first pair of trail shoes, which I absolutely cannot wait to try out tomorrow (please pray it doesn’t rain any more because I just know how muddy the Fells can get after a few days of good rain. We’re talking mud soup.)  Today I did some strength training and focused my arms. One of the worst things is that when you are running and your legs and the rest of you feels great except for your wimpy little arms, which are just aching. Also, not having been able to go to the gym for the past week and a half due to traveling, it was time.  I actually enjoy cross-training because it helps me fight the boredom of doing the same thing day in and day out. Here’s an online article from Runner’s World about cross-training, in case you want to learn more about it.

Oh, and today I bought myself a new pair of road running shoes, and changed them up a bit from the Dyad. Two salespeople listened to me list the problems I usually encounter and then suggested the Brooks Adrenaline 7 or 8. I got the Adrenaline 7 model because they were on sale – it’s pretty sad when spending $70 on shoes feels like a bargain, but I know Brooks shoes are great for endurance, so I don’t mind.  Here’s a picture of them below – aren’t they cool?!

Brooks Adrenaline 7 - stability shoes

When I mentioned to the salesperson that I was considering training for a half-marathon, he said that this was the right time to change shoes, that  a lot of folks will train witih one shoe and then change them up right before their race, which can totally screw you up. I’m just hoping these help out with the pain I feel in my arches after about 4-5 miles – time will tell!

 

 

