You might have noticed that I have Relay for Life linked to the right side of my page. That’s for a few reasons.  My sister has been involved with this endeavor for a few years now.  We’ve both been touched by cancer, or I should say, our friends and family have, over the past few years.  She and Steve say that Steve’s mom should be a “poster child” for early detection.  So, my sister is involved with a team called St. Mary’s Crusaders, and her Relay for Life event is labeled as being with Lawton, MI.  Her event is Relay for Life of Van Buren East.  This year she’s in charge of Luminaria.

I also have a friend down in N.C. that is involved in a different Relay for Life event. Her name is Kristen Anderson, and this is her page.  Her dad had cancer of the esophagus, died on the same day as my grandmother 6 years ago.  (That was a really bad day, to say the least.)

By no means am I putting this information up here to make anyone feel pressured to donate.  Rather this post is to explain why it’s on my blog site. In the past I’ve tried to be involved with local events, but they’ve always fallen on a day that I have a wedding to go to, etc. This year, I think I do want to get involved or get on a team somehow. I might as well put my running to good use, right?

