So today, I ran outside of my comfort zone for the second day in a row. I have to say, I am actually enjoying running outside again, and I’m even enjoying attacking the hills, which are really abundant in western North Carolina, south of Asheville. I might not be able to say the same for my shins, which are completely killing me now, and earlier today, I felt like I must have had arthritis or something, it hurt to walk! (Maybe that’s also due to the fact that since my husband and I arrived, on Thursday, it has done NOTHING but rain, really rain. A lot.)

Tomorrow I am really going to take a picture of the hills around here, so you can all see that I am not making this up. The hill near where my dad lives even scares my sister, Annie. It’s about an 80 degree angle, I’m totally serious on this. Needless to say, I have not run up that one and don’t even want to think about  it! 🙂

Ran the hills earlier today, only let myself walk about .04 miles today (thanks to my GPS watch, I can actually say that with certainty) and felt pretty good when I stopped, knowing I could power through hills. (In case you are wondering, it’s a Garmin Forerunner 101.)  There are some newer ones out there, but this one works just fine for me. There’s nothing like running a race and knowing that the end really is in sight!  Total of my run in the hills of Hendersonville, NC, was 4.2 miles!

