So my inspiration for running comes from my little brother, Jamie. (He prefers to call himself, in a very low voice, “Jim.”  Much to his dismay in front of his friends, I’ll always be calling him Jamie.)  He’s actually not littler than me, just younger. With his height of 6′ 1′, I think he has one distinct advantage over me, being that his legs are at least a foot longer than mine, he is just naturally fast. I mean, really fast. We’re talking, “able to run a marathon in less than 3 hours” fast. Which means, he runs mile splits faster than I can even run a quarter mile.  His goal is to run the  Boston Marathon this April in 2:45.  A colleague of mine and I figured out that means he is going to try to run consecutive 6:17 miles.  More than 26 of them. Now, I don’t know about all of you but when I put the treadmill up that high at my gym, it feels like the thing is going to shake all over the place, and I get that scared feeling that if I have to keep that pace for more than a tenth of a mile, I’m going to get shot off of the back of it like some comedy move!   Scary, I tell you!

But there you have it, he’s my running mentor and my inspiration.  I could not be prouder of him, as you’ll probably see as I keep up this blog.  He’s recently signed up to run his first 50-Mile race, The Finger Lakes 50 Mile Race.  I’m hoping to be able to get the time off from work to go cheer him on, as it’s a long drive from home.  He always says he can hear me cheering FIRST before he even sees me!

